Skip to content

a followup thought after healthcare bill…

March 22, 2010

This, from Dr. Moore at Southern Seminary, really resonated with me after watching the fallout from many Christians in the wake of the Healthcare Reform Bill last night…

Is it a problem that some of us who are tranquil as still water about biblical doctrine and missions are red-faced about Nancy Pelosi and the talking heads on MSNBC? Is it a problem that some who haven’t shared the gospel with their neighbors in months are years are motivated to vent to strangers on the street about how scary national health care will be?

The answer: Yes.

A sign of a big problem.  This may bother some people, but it’s where I am and I’m willing to admit that it may be because I’m young and naive: I don’t care a lot about politics outside of a few issues to which the Bible directly speaks such as abortion, about which I am very passionate.  This isn’t to say that we shouldn’t be involved, but Jesus doesn’t talk a lot about politics in Scripture.  Honestly, I think the healthcare reform is probably something that looks great on paper for the short term (my wife Jana will be able to get coverage after being denied for years as a result of a past minor melanoma) but will probably be very bad for the country’s economy in the longterm.  Am I informed? Definitely not.  I don’t support the bill, but I’ll say this – the bill got passed in part because many non-Christian people have a heart for the poor who can’t afford healthcare while many Christians do little or nothing about this.  I don’t think this was the right way to address that issue, but that’s saddening to me.

A few thoughts about our…

  • Hearts.  God is sovereign over healthcare reform just like he is over little birds dying that no human ever saw (Matt 7).  If you believe that this bill is morally wrong, you should work against it.  You should not, however, “let your heart be troubled” and live in fear.  Have the heart of a son or daughter of God – untroubled and safe in God’s arms.
  • Words. It’s cause for serious reflection if we see that we’ll talk til’ we’re blue in the face about healthcare reform to anyone who will listen but are content to have closed mouths as people that we love dearly head to hell.
  • Emotions.  Dr. Moore’s point is right on.  Many of us will spew impassioned words in our conversations, on our facebook pages, and blogs about healthcare reform – for it or against it.  But we don’t care about at all about good doctrine or engaging the lost people around us with the gospel.  This is another cause for inward reflection.

If you have any comments or questions of disagreement, please email me instead of posting them in the comments section.  Praying for you today and hoping that God uses this trial to sanctify us and bring things in us previously unseen to light.

Email: josh@thebridgespringhill.com

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 22, 2010 11:10 am

    I agree to some extent. I definitely see Christians who talk politics all the time yet never mention Biblical doctrine or the Gospel. I know I’m guilty of not sharing the Gospel with my neighbors like I should… then again, I also don’t talk politics with them either.

    At the same time, this health care bill only serves to attack the Gospel, as it enthrones government in the hearts of the people as the giver of all good things rather than God. It’s idolatry, and it encourages covetousness as well. Of course, political idolatry has been the rule and not the exception in this country for decades…

  2. March 22, 2010 11:24 am

    Josh,

    Great post man and I’m totally with you. I tend to forget the gospel and my union with Christ all together when it comes to politics. We as the church must never confuse our allegiance, but it’s Romans 13 all over again. Great post brother.

  3. March 22, 2010 11:29 am

    good thoughts–i am also fairly poorly informed, and honestly uninterested; but like jana, have hope of getting insurance coverage now! working in the healthcare industry, specifically in the financial/insurance side of things, is often times just disgusting–the greed of the companies (and doctors), the desperation of patients… i don’t know what the answer is, but it makes me weary.
    this very morning i am sending accounts to collections (most due to insufficient or no insurance coverage) and have had to deal with a parent who falsified financial records from our office in an attempt to get more custody support from her ex. all of these people are now getting letters from me stating that they have to find new doctors for their children. yuck.

    i will yet praise Him, my Savior and King

  4. March 22, 2010 11:34 am

    A while back, the government thought it would be a great idea to send out checks to people to stimulate the economy by giving everyone money to spend. Many conservatives protested about what a bad idea this was, namely because the government could not afford to do it. Yet, when the check went out those same protesters took the money and spent it.

    We tend to yell and scream in opposition, yet run towards opportunities that may benefit us while hurting others.

    This legislation will cost someone something. I wonder how many of us, myself included, will take advantage of ways it may benefit our own personal situation, with little concern for what it will cost others.

  5. March 22, 2010 11:53 am

    I agree that I don’t understand enough but in trying to learn, I have posted my thoughts and understandings here http://www.houseoflyons.net/?p=11657 not that you have to be interested, but there it is! :)
    I do like that you have given a biblical POV and that yes, it should be the Christians responsibility to take care of the poor, not the government.
    I’m glad that Jana (and Sarah!) can get insurance now! What a blessing.

  6. Nathan permalink
    March 22, 2010 11:53 am

    This bill, like all other laws that are passed, is merely an attempt to control and manage sin.

    There will still be doctors and insurance companies operating out of greed rather than mercy.
    There will still be a government that seeks control and power over it’s citizens.
    There will still be citizens (myself included) who refuse to treat their bodies as God’s temple.
    There will still be other citizens (myself included) who are so self-absorbed that they are blinded to the plight of their neighbor.

    Through all of these problems, Jesus stands as the only Savior. He alone can rescue us from our sin.

  7. Shi permalink
    March 22, 2010 12:06 pm

    Josh, it was not a mistake to post this, so don’t think that. Thnx for being balanced, honest and biblical. The post is encouraging and much needed today. I haven’t spoken much on this issue besides to Alan (who gets and ear full, bless his heart) but I was still convicted that my urgency for reaching the lost isn’t great enough. Shouldn’t we ultimately be concerned ab our lost friends and their eternity? U r right and I find that I need to examine myself. If my need to broadcast my political view, vent and be heard is more urgent than broadcasting Jesus and loving the lost and poor, this HR bill is really not my biggest problem.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

