Skip to content

God is more faithful than our faith… hallelujah

July 23, 2008

In the midst of trying to sell a condo in a Louisville suburb when nobody wants a condo or wants to live in a Louisville suburb, this story Nathan Wandell shared with me in an email yesterday reminded me that “this is an easy thing in the eyes of The Lord” (2 Kings 3:18).

In your Facebook message to me, you asked what God was doing in the life of our family. Funny you should ask. We’ve been praying for a van recently, as we’re about to go from 2 to 3 kids. So, we’ve been praying for a few months, and about two weeks ago, one of Andrea’s co-workers approaches her and says, “We’re buying a suburban, would you like a van?” Andrea asked, “How much do you want for it” and the lady says, “No, do you WANT a van?!”  So, this family gives us a 1998 Dodge Caravan for free! It’s got some repair work needed on it, but the engine’s only 4 years old, so we couldn’t be happier or more thankful for the way God has worked.

I don’t know what it is that you’re needing God to do something impossible for.  For us it’s the condo; for me personally it’s needing God to supernaturally prepare me to lead The Bridge; for Jana personally it’s the salvation of some people very dear to us.  I’m realizing that these situations are opporunities for grown faith in God instead of obstacles to God’s purpose.

What’s your impossible situation right now?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Scott Shoopman permalink
    July 25, 2008 1:17 pm

    Our Small Group recently started a study on Finances from Crown Financial Ministries. A short 6 week study that really helps to focus our efforts on making good decisions with our finances. As much as I hate to admit, these ideas are not new, but they are now in the forefront again. The impossible situation? How to… Real Estate is slow, economy is in question, gas is inflating, debts have piled, expenses are increasing… when I began to really examine the current state of affairs under my roof… WOW! BUT… this I know. God has a plan and a direction for my life. I am always more excited about tomorrow when I keep that in front of me and follow His lead.

  2. Sue Slack permalink
    July 27, 2008 5:18 pm

    Just wanted to let you know that we’re praying for you as you transition from KY to TN. I’ve been praying that God will do a “God thing” for you in the sale of your condo. We traveled from TN to PA last week and as we passed thru Louisville I was praying for you. I’m so excited to see what God has in store for all of us at The Bridge thru your ministry. (And you’re starting on Jenna’s birthday so she thinks that’s pretty cool!)

  3. Laurie Hall permalink
    July 27, 2008 6:14 pm

    Josh & Jana- I have heard of and somewhat witnessed your faith and trust in God-this is all you need to continue to do! As you know, He has a plan and it will be brought to fruition “in His timing”. I can be so impatient with that one sometimes, but have truly learned that is best for me and all involved. I too have experienced His awesome timing in my life (since I have a few years on you both!) It did take me awhile though. Several years back I had a vehicle that was holding me in bondage and had to move out of God’s way and let God work. Unfortunately my father became terminally ill and was no longer able to drive the “older” car that he owned. He in turn gave me that Michigan car, yes rust and all. The moment that I got back from MI with the car, the car that I had been trying to sell for weeks-sold! I had a voicemail on my answering machine that was left while I was in MI, I called the gentleman back, he came within the hour and bought the car, handing me cash!!! God waited until I had something dependable, (though not what I would have chosen-humbled me didn’t he?!) and then let the car that I had been driving, which I had needed to get to work and back, sell. HE is amazing and HIS timing is perfect!! Was I ever able to give Him the glory!! I still to this day call that car “my get out of debt car”, because that was just the beginning of how He has shown me just how powerful He is. That is just one of many ways that He has humbled me, stripped me of pride over my lifetime and shown me that He is in control. I will continue to be praying for you both in this transition and your journey down to the Bridge and our journey together. I have an idea, why don’t we let Him lead 🙂 We are excited!

  4. howertonjosh permalink
    July 28, 2008 3:36 pm

    Sue and Laurie – thanks for sharing those things and for your prayer. It’s helped us to hear from people that have followed God through similar situations and seen his faithfulness. We’ll see you guys in just over a week!

Leave a Reply

