Skip to content

How would you describe The Bridge?

July 25, 2008

The most common question I answer has changed in the last two weeks. It used to be a close race between, “How are you?” and “Hey, when are you going to get the wart on your hand removed?”. Now it’s, “So, what’s The Bridge like?”

I get both excited and confused right now when someone asks me that question. Excited because The Bridge is truly a special church. I remember a Sunday when I was the youth intern when I sat in between an alcoholic and a lesbian and didn’t think about that being unusual until I went back to a “normal church” at the end of the summer. The Bridge is for sinners… like me. Unfortunately, that’s unusual!

I get confused when trying to answer that question because God is so actively shaping vision for The Bridge in my soul right now that it’s almost hard to separate the “what is” from the “what could be” in my mind’s eye. He has been more active in my heart in the last month than in years.

So, I’m interested to hear from you. How would you describe The Bridge to someone that asked?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Scott Shoopman permalink
    July 25, 2008 1:10 pm

    Well, the way I usually describe The Bridge is “the best group of people you would ever want to know.” This is usually the statement at the end of me telling someone about sending 75% of our people on mission or that 80% of our people are involved in group life outside of Sunday morning worship or that Sunday’s are full of people loving on each other and loving God… It just doesn’t get any better.

  2. Becky permalink
    July 26, 2008 12:01 am

    I would describe the Bridge as my family! With having no relatives any closer than a 7 hour drive, the Bridge has literally become our family. We have been comforted when my dad passed away and celebrated many occasions like Haleigh’s salvation and baptism and Emma’s birth. We have also had people call and ask to take the kids for a while when Jimmy was working out of town so much and they knew that my pregnant-at-the-time body needed a break. We didn’t hesitate when we had to call for help in the middle of the night when Jimmy was dealing with kidney stones. Then there’s just the day-to-day things that are so very special…an impromptu meeting for dinner; a last minute cookout with friends; moms getting together for some conversation while kids play. I agree with Scott that it just doesn’t get any better!

  3. Jim permalink
    July 26, 2008 5:33 am

    The Bridge is true community. It is going out to Pancho’s on Sunday with 20 of your closest friends. (Raye always picks Pancho’s!) It is Scott Shoopman showing up to help you build something just because. It is Ken Johnson giving you a hug that you know causes internal bleeding. It is the setup team that always shows up. It is our great youth that think it’s cool to talk to my little kids and even me. It is our great moms that want the best that church has to offer for their kids and are willing to work to make that happen. It is our band that provides a worship experience that a church our size does not usually expect. It is life changing experiences on mission. It is a person that asks how you are doing and really wants to know. It is a safe place when you feel beat down. It is a group of people that makes me want to grow in Christ. It is a group of people learning how to be the church God wants us to be.

  4. Lora Nethercutt permalink
    July 29, 2008 10:31 pm

    Unconditional love!

Leave a Reply

