Skip to content

Welcome to The Bridge Pastor’s Blog!

July 27, 2008

For anyone that heard about the blog at church today, here’s the “welcome” post again.  Keep the questions going!

You made it! Thanks for stopping by to check out the Pastor’s Blog. If you didn’t get a chance, please watch the video above. It will explain a little about why I’m doing a blog and your role in it. For practice and so that we can get to know each other a little, let’s play the questions game.

I’m going to ask a question. The first person will answer the question and then leave the next question in the “comments” section above this post. Got it? Here we go. We’ll see how this goes.

Question: If you could travel anywhere in the world right now, where would you go?

18 Comments leave one →
  1. Scott Shoopman permalink
    July 21, 2008 1:59 pm

    Hey Josh, I am looking forward to you adn Jana coming down to The Bridge and am excited about what God will do through you and The Bridge in the near future.

    I have completed all three items as outlined in the video… except my travel plans…

    ANYWHERE COOLER than here!! 97 degrees is too hot for me!! I could probably enjoy a Rocky Mountain trip right now…

  2. alex permalink
    July 21, 2008 3:59 pm

    he didn’t leave another question! I’ll answer urs again and then put a new one:

    I’d go to Pittsburg to see the Steelers play.

    New Question:

    What is the greatest restaraunt in the world?

  3. Becky permalink
    July 22, 2008 2:49 pm

    We are so excited to have you and Jana coming to the Bridge!! I’m sitting here with 3 of our 4 kiddos watching your vidoes and the kids want to play them all again…you’re a celebrity!

    I think the greatest restaurant is any I go to when my kids are with me and being very well behaved…or any I go to alone with Jimmy on a date. Oh, and anywhere I go on a girls’ night out. My kids said McDonald’s or Red Lobster. HMmmm, quite a difference there!

    New Question:

    What is your favorite movie?

  4. Cindy permalink
    July 22, 2008 7:41 pm

    Hey ya’ll!!!
    Dale, Preston, and I are also excited for you guys to be here. Can’t wait for our first Bible lessons. We really like Jeffery’s Grill, here in Spring Hill, Josh and Jana, you gotta go there for sure.

    Gotta say also, as far as travel, would love to go back to Grand Teton sometime, it was awesome.

    Any body else like to backpack?
    Hope you are all having a terrific week.
    Cindy

  5. Jim permalink
    July 22, 2008 9:35 pm

    I love backpacking except for the heavy pack and the walking. I love everything else about it. Just kidding! I would love to hike more. I think we will do more as our kids get older. It’s tough to hike far with 4 kids under 9.

    In fact, if I could be anywhere in the world, it would be on the big rock at the quarry next to Lake Barkley fishing for catfish. You have to hike in and out to get there.

    My questions is:
    If you could have a conversation with anyone current or past, who would it be?

  6. July 22, 2008 10:27 pm

    It would be eleanor roosevelt, so she could prove to me just how influential she really is…

    My question is…

    if you could get in a fight with one person, knowing that you would win, who would it be?

  7. trentlinville permalink
    July 24, 2008 12:56 pm

    Definitely Chuck Norris. Then I could say that I beat Chuck Norris in a fight.

    I’m so excited about you coming to the Bridge Josh! When is your first Sunday that you’ll be teaching?

  8. howertonjosh permalink
    July 24, 2008 1:10 pm

    My first day “on the job” is August 5th and my first Sunday is August 10th. We can’t wait!

    My question is…

    If Trent Linville were a member of the Spice Girls, which one would he be?

  9. susan howerton permalink
    July 24, 2008 3:01 pm

    I vote for “Old Spice”! We love you, Trent!

    My question is…

    If you could have a super-power what would it be?

  10. Andrea Wandell permalink
    July 24, 2008 3:24 pm

    Omnipotence! I would want all strength, especially as tired as I am lately with number 3 on the way! It’s a good thing only God has that because I am SURE I would mess things up!

    Here is my question: What’s your favorite and most effective form of “rest”?

  11. Dale Kinnard permalink
    July 25, 2008 12:42 am

    My favorite form of rest is any that I can get !

    Josh we look forward to having you in Spring Hill, I am a native Spring Hill person so I’ll give you all of the history that I know and I’m pretty old so I have a lot…LOL.

    My question is: if Scott Shoopman was a rodeo bull rider what would his “nickname” be?

    Remember LOUD is always GOOD!

  12. Mary Bea permalink
    July 25, 2008 10:27 am

    If Scott Shoopman was a bull rider his nickname would be “1.5 sec.” I love you Scott…

    My question…If you were a pair of socks what kind would you be?

  13. Scott Shoopman permalink
    July 25, 2008 1:06 pm

    Thanks Mary Bea… 1.5 sec is longer than I would have given myself!!

    socks… argyle. Just a bit off norm…

    Next question… What do you like best about Spring Hill?

  14. Sarah Stephenson permalink
    July 26, 2008 5:31 pm

    The Bridge is my favorite part about Spring Hill. It’s a home away from home.

    Next question: The ultimate question… You’re at KFC for a delicious lunch, but you have one delima… *que the suspenceful music* Crispy or Original?

  15. Julie Howerton permalink
    July 28, 2008 8:26 pm

    I’d have to go with original, but hey I”m old.

    Question: Who is the mother of this intelligent, techno-savvy, good-looking new pastor The Bridge is getting? She (and her husband might have helped) must have passed down some incredible genes!
    Seriously, what is your favorite memory from the past month?

  16. howertonjosh permalink
    July 28, 2008 10:36 pm

    “Intelligent” and “Techno-savvy” could only come from a mother… and “good looking” could only come from my mom or Jana, but I’ll take em!

    Best Memory from the last month: getting a text from Scott Shoopman on a Sunday morning that told me about the affirmative vote from The Bridge.

    New Question: What is your favorite parable?… and in one sentence explain why.

  17. Lora Nethercutt permalink
    July 29, 2008 10:44 pm

    Welcome Josh and Jana! Can’t wait for your arrival!! We will need to get you guys on the river once it cools off. Kayaking is always a great way to God’s handy work from a different position.

    Favorite parable would have to be the Mustard Seed! I use it most often in my personal journey when I think things just can’t get any worse. That mighty mustard seed has lots of power!!

    New question: What would your indian name be?

Trackbacks

  1. Top 10 Posts of 2008 « .. josh’s blog ..

Leave a Reply

