Skip to content

For all you Poison fans out there…

July 31, 2008

I read a story yesterday about CC Deville, lead guitarist of none other than the 80’s hair-band Poison, becoming a Christian recently and seeking the spirtual counsel of Pete Wilson, an acquaintance of mine and pastor in the Nashville area. If you haven’t read this story or seen the video of Deville talking to Pete right after his conversion, it’s worth checking out. For everyone else, here’s CC Deville rocking “Amazing Grace” to 10,000+ people at a concert last week. Mentally crimp your hair, acid wash your Jordache jeans, or throw on some leggings. In my opinion, here is one of the most appropriate performances ever for a song about the amazing-ness of God’s grace…

Now, be honest.  Who’s been to a Poison concert in their day???  If you haven’t, what’s the best concert you’ve ever witnessed?  Mine is Dave Matthews in 2004 or David Crowder at Passion.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. anne permalink
    August 4, 2008 10:25 pm

    I’ve been a Poison fan for 2o years and A Christian! I’ve seen Poison 12 times, most recentley July 3rd of this year in Salt Lake City. I am overjoyed about c.c. giving his heart to the Lord. I met him in the 90’s and he’s a very genuine and funny person. I can see the Lord on his face and I think this is awesome… who knows maybe the seed will be planted and the whole band will come to know the Lord!

  2. howertonjosh permalink
    August 4, 2008 10:37 pm

    Rock out, Anne!

  3. Becky permalink
    August 5, 2008 1:35 pm

    Oh what memories are playing in my head right now! Will big hair ever be back in ~ because I can sure do that!!! We love looking through old pictures with the kids and they laugh so much about my hair…anyway, never went to any concerts but sure loved 80s rock/heavy metal. When I hear it on the radio now I find myself turning it up loud so the kids can “appreciate mom and dad’s old music” and then I realize what the lyrics are saying and I have to quickly turn it back off. Did I really not care back then?? Scary!

  4. Susan permalink
    August 5, 2008 3:40 pm

    Well, I have to say the best concert I went to “back the good ole days” was the Commodores (3rd row… felt the sweat from the stage and the smoke in my eyes as Lionel Richie on the piano rolled out in the fog playing “Three Times a Lady”). I don’t think it gets much better as a college student. Although, Barry Manilow, John Denver, and The Carpenters tie for second! Where has all the good music gone?

Leave a Reply

