Skip to content

Why not us?

August 4, 2008

I got a chance to visit a church called Cross Point Community on the north side of Nashville yesterday.  I knew the pastor, Pete Wilson, as a kid when he was a student in Dad’s campus ministry.  Cross Point is doing amazing things right now – it was a brand new church plant five years ago and has quickly grown as it has become a church that is known for being missional by being relevant to the culture.  You can see in the pictures below that this “ain’t your grandaddy’s church.”

 

What I loved about Cross Point was how much God has blessed it by it’s willingness to care about the lost world.  They do a lot of things that aren’t “normal church things” so that they can bring the unchanging message of the gospel to the ever-changing culture that needs it.  Remind you of a church you know?  I just kept looking around and thinking, “The Bridge could do this.”  A lot of times when people see great things happen around them they get discouraged because they don’t think it could happen to or through them.  Yesterday though, I just kept looking at how God has blessed Cross Point and thinking, “Why not us?  Is this The Bridge in five, ten, or fifteen years?” 

So, I’m asking you – Why not us?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 3, 2008 10:27 pm

    Hey Josh. It was an honor to have you at Cross Point today. I’m so excited about your new adventure at the Bridge. Please know there is a church across town that is praying for you like crazy.

    Looking forward to getting together with you real soon!

  2. Sue Slack permalink
    August 4, 2008 2:13 pm

    We attended Cross Point Community church our first year in Nashville. (My sister and brother-in-law attend that church and we were living in that area.) I often compare The Bridge to Cross Point and I’m eager to see what the Lord is going to do in the months and years to come.

  3. Kathy Hollandsworth permalink
    August 4, 2008 4:25 pm

    Hey Josh! You’ve hit the nail on the head as far as I’m concerned. We attended Bellevue Community Church for about 4 years when Pete was attending and just loved the church and it’s atmosphere. When we started looking for a church near home, we were looking for that type of church and The Bridge was the closest we could find. So I’m so excited that you see that as our future because I don’t want to drive to Bellevue any more! Looking forward to meeting you!

  4. howertonjosh permalink
    August 4, 2008 10:44 pm

    Kathy – looking forward to meeting you and Jeff. I’ve heard so much about the two of you I feel like I’m responding to a Bridge legend!

Leave a Reply

