Skip to content

Grandpastor Rick’s Groove

August 5, 2008

In the tweener days after finishing up in Mt Washington and before starting in Spring Hill, Jana and I got to see my parents Friday night, which was awesome.  A lot of you have spent more time with my Dad in the last years than me and know just how awesome he is.  On top of everything that’s going on in his life (buying hawaiian shirts, spiking his hair, wearing socks with sandals, etc.), he just finished up an incredible success story at The Bridge, a healthy and growing church plant in a time when more than 85% of church plants die shortly after they launch.  “Grandpastor Rick” has been an incredible leader and in his honor I give you 5 short seconds of him getting his groove on in the car at Sonic on Friday night…

What do you give him on a scale of 1 to 10?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Dale permalink
    August 6, 2008 12:13 am

    We need to get that man some dancing lessons.

    I hate to be totally negative though….

    .5

  2. Susan permalink
    August 6, 2008 10:48 am

    I like the title “Grandpastor”… it’s kinda like “Grandwizard” (Ha!) His dancing reminds me of someone… I think it must be genetic!

  3. Lora permalink
    August 6, 2008 10:55 am

    I just glanced at the headline and the first thing I thought of was….Rick was going to be a grandpa and he was dancing for joy!? Whoops, guess its another kind of dance.

    I see that disco ball working hard, lets give Rick a 2…disco is out – or is it?

  4. Julie Howerton permalink
    August 6, 2008 12:34 pm

    Hey! I’d at least give him a 2. Cut him some slack Bridgers. He grew up in a Baptist home and wasn’t allowed to go to dances so he hasn’t had much practice. We LOVE you Rick, deplorable dancer that you are. Julie

  5. jana howerton permalink
    August 6, 2008 2:31 pm

    I’ll give dad a 5 for boldness! Love ya dad! Jana

  6. Mary Bea permalink
    August 6, 2008 3:14 pm

    Now we know the truth…Rick is car dancer!! Be aware people…be very aware!!
    But I give him an 8…because when confronted with the knowledge of “recorded proof” of his dancing prowess and having prior knowledge of this blog…there was just laughter…(I might have snatched the camera and started erasing evidence…)

  7. Ken permalink
    August 6, 2008 5:54 pm

    Bow wow wow yippie yoy yippie yay

  8. Dale permalink
    August 6, 2008 6:21 pm

    Ken..I was thinking the same thing…he might have a little Snoop Dog in him.

Trackbacks

  1. Jim Riffe attempting a Grandpastor-upstage « .. pastor’s blog ..
  2. A new contender « .. pastor’s blog ..
  3. Followup: How could a good God allow suffering? «

Leave a Reply

