Skip to content

jana is awesome

August 6, 2008

Sometimes Most of the time I forget that the Bible says the purpose of mine and Jana’s marriage isn’t primarily about us – it’s about Jesus.  As is the case with most of the things I’m bad at, Jana is great at this.  This morning I woke up to see this on top of my pile of “TO-DO’s” for the day:

While I was busy eating food and watching ESPN, Jana was writing me a note to encourage me in my calling to The Bridge along with a written prayer she’s been praying for me.  There’s hardly anything better than bragging on your spouse and there’s hardly anything worse than having to listen to someone else brag without getting a chance yourself.  Here’s your chance to make up for the idiotic thing you did this week (or in my case “things”)… 

What does your spouse do that encourages you and/or points you towards Jesus?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Susan permalink
    August 7, 2008 8:47 am

    Lately, Lance and I have been reading the books… “The Power of a Praying Husband” and “The Power of a Praying Wife”, by Stormie Omartian. These books have reminded us how crucial it is to pray for your spouse. Sad to say, I don’t always pray for my husband’s specific needs. But lately, at times when I needed prayer, I have gotten text messages from Lance saying that He is or has been praying for me about those specific things. That makes me feel incredibly loved and encourages me to keep going and reminds me that prayer is the answer for relieving my stress and worries. I love that Lance is taking those things to Jesus for me too!

  2. Marianne Shoopman permalink
    August 7, 2008 1:38 pm

    Scott just keeps on being him. I’ll act ugly and he’ll change it to kindness. I’ll read my novel and he’ll get out his Lifewalk. I’ll forget God is in control and he’ll remind me He is. But he never, ever makes me feel less for it. He’s just always my leader, my support, my partner. That is how he points me toward Jesus!

Leave a Reply

