Skip to content

continuing the conversation – knowbedience

August 10, 2008

Yesterday was, in all honesty, one of the most satisfying days of my life with only marriage, birth, and maybe the 1988 Superbowl berth for the Bengals ahead of it.  Teaching for the first time as a part of The Bridge coupled with  listening to Dennis Knisley order a quesadilla at lunch was overwhelming to experience all in one day.

On Mondays, we’ll usually continue the conversation about whatever we looked at in Scripture on Sunday so that we can try and talk about it together through the week.  Yesterday we focused on Jesus’ “Story of the Two Builders” and how the only trustworthy foundation for a human life is a posture of “knowbedience” (a desire to know in order to obey) towards God’s Word.  What was so encouraging about being able to study this parable for two weeks was studying it knowing that The Bridge is full of people of knowbedience. 

Two questions for us to “comment” on today – pick either one. 1) What’s a command in Scripture you find especially hard to obey?  2) Who is somebody that has set an example of knowbedience for you?

I’ll start & go for both.  1)  Honestly, a command I’ve found hard to obey is “confess your sins to each other”.  2)  Beth Knisley was willing to be late to lunch yesterday so she could drive a friend without a car home from church yesterday.  I left thinking “that’s knowbedience.”

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Mary Bea permalink
    August 11, 2008 9:36 am

    KNOWBEDIANCE: watching Jordan, Lindsey, Preston, Ethan and Nathan help my friend Lisa (who they’ve never met) move from one apartment to another….without one word of complaint about lack of organization, lack of things still not packed…how hot it was, nothing…they only asked “what next?” and nothing was too heavy or left to the next person to take… All of this early on a Sat. morning…I was proud to know them and convicted by their actions…wondering would I help someone move on a Sat. morning if I didn’t know them?

  2. Susan permalink
    August 11, 2008 12:13 pm

    2 Cor. 9:6-15 for me is convicting as it talks about giving beyond our comfort level trusting God to provide for our needs even if we give the very last of what we have. God gives us what we have to give back whether that’s financial or our talents/gifts, etc. LuAnn Nicholas has been that example for me of “knowbedience” as she daily gives everything she can to others out of love for Christ. She totally trusts God to provide for her each day. She listens to God to show her minute by minute who He wants her to bless. She gives away her last dime sometimes to help someone else and has no doubt that God will replenish all she needs and He always does in sometimes miraculous ways that then give her another opportunity to praise Him to others and point out His power. I’m so thankful God put her in my life to continually remind me what living by faith and knowbedience is really about.

  3. Cindy permalink
    August 11, 2008 5:28 pm

    1) I stuggle alot with, James 4:17 “Remember, it is sin to know what you ought to do and then not do it.” 2) Knowbidience: seeing the Riffe family, Sunday after Sunday….”as for me and my house, we will praise/serve/worship the Lord.” Actually, any family that has small children especially, and gets them to church for worship; that is not easy to do.

  4. Becky permalink
    August 13, 2008 10:52 pm

    I would say Sue Slack is a great example of “knowbedience”. She is a true prayer warrior and I know without a doubt each time I share a request with her that she is taking it to the Lord for me. And if it happens to be something personal that I’d like to keep private I know it will be kept that way. She is also such a great encourager…always thoughtful, sending notes, uplifting emails…and then there are all the meals and such she has organized for so many families. What a busy lady being “knowbedient”!! I am blessed to call her my friend.

  5. howertonjosh permalink
    August 14, 2008 2:58 pm

    I’ve heard Sue is an “organizational genius” from not one, but two people at The Bridge so far.

Leave a Reply

