Skip to content

Stephen Curtis Champan’s family on Larry King Live

August 11, 2008

I referenced this interview on Sunday.  This video is the final part of six parts posted on Youtube of Chapman family on Larry King Live talking about the death of their five year old daughter/sister, Maria Sue.  If you didn’t see it, it’s worth your time (hint: grab a kleenex).  The part of the interview I talked about on Sunday is at the 7:45 minute mark in this clip when Larry King asks Mary-Beth Chapman, “Have you ever questioned your belief?”  Her response is so genuine and God-glorifying.

For me, I’ve been able to see God’s hand in my pains even more than in my joys… looking back.  What lessons has God taught you through “the storms”?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jana permalink
    August 18, 2008 11:12 pm

    I know I’m commenting on this post a little late, but I still wanted to take the time to write something. Josh’s question: “What lessons has God taught you through “the storms” is a really great question. I know the storms of life are not always fun to go through, and they can sometimes even be scary, but by God’s grace through each and every one of them I have come to have a deeper knowledge of God’s character and His love for me. The storms I have gone through have only made me love Him more, and grateful for salvation through Jesus.

  2. Becky permalink
    August 20, 2008 11:27 pm

    One of the biggest “storms” I’ve been through is losing my dad to cancer in 2005. Although it was a tremendously sad time, I could feel the Lord’s presence throughout it all and that was such a comfort. We were blessed to have known his death was coming and so we spent some wonderful time together and during that time I heard my daddy say over and over, “hey, it’s only gonna get better!” I praise the Lord for not allowing my daddy to suffer but instead taking him on home ~ as daddy would say. Now, that doesn’t mean that I didn’t question and wonder why him and why so soon and why didn’t the doctors do more tests since they knew his history and why won’t my kids get to grow up knowing their “papaw”. But I always came back to the fact that God is in control and that there are things that I sometimes just don’t understand. After all, He’s God and I am most certainly not!! So I choose to focus on the fact that the Lord healed my daddy…just not in the way/place I would have hoped.

Leave a Reply

