Skip to content

Lunch with Pete

August 13, 2008

I had a chance to get with Pete Wilson from Cross Point Community Church this week.  If it hasn’t become obvious yet, Cross Point is a church I’m learning from.  During lunch I was asking Pete what were some of the factors that helped Cross Point become the church she’s become and without any hesitation Pete said, “great elders.” 

There are a lot of things that have me excited about what’s coming in the next months and years for The Bridge, but our elders are at the very top of that list.  Jim Riffe, Dennis Knisley, and Scott Shoopman are men that I would live and die with because of their godly authenticity and the fact that they are all men who have truly lived and died for the church.  Those guys are the reason I can sleep sound at night confident that The Bridge is headed down God’s path.  That thought got me wondering…

What quality or characteristic will make you confident in a church?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Julie Howerton permalink
    August 14, 2008 3:25 pm

    I too am quite confident in our elders, but I’m also confident because of the church’s faithfulness to serve others and to be outward focused.

  2. August 16, 2008 9:19 am

    Josh, it was great to meet you when you were in the office. I’m so excited about what God has in store for The Bridge.

  3. August 16, 2008 9:27 am

    I found your blog from Pete Wilson’s. Now, what was that question?   What quality or characteristic will make you confident in a church?A group of people not bound by traditions but by an overwhelming desire to be true to God’s calling on their lives.  People and leaders who are authentic and real and who realize the message never changes but the way we communicate it to those who need it so desperately, must.

    I’m rambling. lol. Nice blog, bro.

  4. Jeff Loring permalink
    August 23, 2008 5:32 pm

    I interested in knowing more about Bridge. Please give me a website.

  5. howertonjosh permalink
    August 23, 2008 10:42 pm

    Jeff – our website is thebridgespringhill.com

    We’re working on updating all of the pastor’s information as the previous pastor’s pic is still on the frontpage… my goatee isn’t grey yet!

Trackbacks

  1. A Little Link Love « Without Wax

Leave a Reply

