Skip to content

continuing the conversation – our fears

August 17, 2008

After talking about Jesus’ “Story about a Sower” yesterday, Dave Hall told me to remind him to “show me the soybeans” later.  Since Dave keeps you off balance anyway (who else both lives in a barn and drives a Hummer!?), I didn’t think too much about it.  Later though, he drove me by these plants and made an incredible observation…

For some reason the spot above is surrounded by plants that haven’t grown half as fast as they have.  The point is that even though some people are given all of the same spiritual opportunities, Christ just doesn’t take root in them like he does in other people.  Again, it’s not our job to worry about conversion; it’s our job to be obsessed with scattering the gospel.

While understanding that has removed a ton of fear about sharing the gospel, I’ve still got some biggies.  What fears do you have that keep you from “scattering” the message about Jesus?

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. howertonjosh permalink
    August 17, 2008 11:40 pm

    I’ll start. I still have a fear that the person I’m talking to will be able to “prove me wrong.” I’ve experienced some periods of doubt in my life that have left me with this fear for awhile now… it’s getting annoying!

  2. Jim permalink
    August 18, 2008 5:38 am

    I, like Josh, thought for a long time that someone would have the question that I could not answer or refute. However, just recently I have realized two things that have made sharing much easier. 1)Scripture is powerful. It will speak to a person when you don’t have the right words to say. 2)If all else fails, do what the apostles did, tell what you have seen.

  3. Lora permalink
    August 18, 2008 8:12 am

    As I was sitting in church yesterday listening to Josh talk about the different “hearts” (I think that is how he put it…I got lost in thought…) I started thinking of people I have met and could place one of those titles on a several different people I have met. Scary if you just really think about it. Good series Josh!!

  4. Kathy permalink
    August 18, 2008 9:23 am

    My first worry is that, like most people, I worry too much about what people think of me. If I share Christ with them they may think I’m “one of those” kind of people and avoid me. But I also struggle with how to transition conversation into, “How are you?” “I’m fine, do you know Jesus as your personal saviour?”…awkward silence follows. Not too smooth.

  5. Cindy permalink
    August 18, 2008 1:09 pm

    Wow, I believe this one has us all thinking; which is good, because I know, more than anything, we want others to know Christ personally. Up until about 4 years ago, I pretty much, never spoke up about Christ out of fear. A lot has changed in my on personal life which has made me have more concern for others, which makes me care more and speak up more, so I often think I say too much at times, but so far so good at my work place now. I don’t worry anymore about people thinking I am weird if I read my Bible, etc. I do see so many people out there that have Christian backgrounds but don’t honor God and this really concerns me because I know they are living a substitute life they think is happiness, like I did and I so want for them to have REAL joy and peace. I often worry that I don’t speak up even when I know I should and fear I might say too much. I don’t want to miss an opportunity.Great study, Josh!!

Leave a Reply

