Skip to content

Jim Riffe attempting a Grandpastor-upstage

August 18, 2008

After seeing Grandpastor Rick get his groove on in the car last week, Jim Riffe (one of our incredible elders) decided to try and one-up him with his carnival skills from a former life.  He’s no Shawn Johnson, but…

Grandpastor Rick’s ratings ranged from 0.8 (from Dale Kinnard!) to “bow wow wow yippie yo” (Ken Johnson). 

On a scale of 1-10, what’s Jim get???

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Ben Lawson permalink
    August 19, 2008 8:16 am

    If you go up you must come down or havn’t completed the task. Sorry Jim you only get a 5 because you didn’t come back down the stairs. But I am proud of you for going up them.

  2. Jon permalink
    August 19, 2008 9:05 am

    I say pretty good for an elder! I give him a six. If he’d have come down, he’d have a 9.

  3. Jordan permalink
    August 19, 2008 9:19 am

    I give him an 8 because the other judges seem to be too demanding and miss the fact that neither of them can walk up the stairs on stilts.

  4. Andrea Wandell permalink
    August 19, 2008 9:30 am

    Well, because Jim is not a carnie, if I compared his skills to any average American, then I’d give it a 9 because maybe 1 out of 10 people could possibly perform this with practice. Jim, GREAT job! I AM impressed!

  5. Susan permalink
    August 19, 2008 11:42 am

    Jim – I am very impressed but have to tell you that I grew up walking on stilts exactly like these that my grandfather made me so I think I could take you… even though I am older and more decrepit than you.

  6. Jana permalink
    August 19, 2008 1:20 pm

    I agree with Jordan’s comment! However, I’ll give Jim a 10 because those things are hard to walk on and he was able to make it up the stairs on them!

  7. Cindy permalink
    August 19, 2008 2:53 pm

    This was soooooo funny, I give Jim a 10 for comic relief!!!
    I bet his kids could tell us some stories.

  8. Jim permalink
    August 19, 2008 6:43 pm

    I appreciate the kind comments. I just want to let you know that I do birthday parties. You should see the costume that goes with the act!

  9. Mary Bea permalink
    August 20, 2008 9:04 am

    I’m just wondering…after all these years of doing Kidstuf…this is how I find out about your secret talent?!?

  10. Becky permalink
    August 20, 2008 10:18 pm

    Wow, even I’m impressed! I haven’t seen this in person yet as I was inside with the baby when this was taking place. And yes, all of our kids have stilts and I just pray they don’t break any bones. I’ll give my sweetie a 10 just for getting up on the things…I’ve tried and all I can do is laugh and fall off. Oh, for another good laugh, ask him to do his Julia Child impersonation for you! ;0)

  11. Scott Shoopman permalink
    August 26, 2008 11:41 am

    I never cease to be amazed at Jim! I can’t wait to see his Julia impersonation

Leave a Reply

