Skip to content

continuing the conversation – the 2 categories

August 24, 2008

GREAT gathering today for The Bridge.  We talked about Jesus’ story about a good Samaritan and how we tend to mentally file people into two categories: “people that count” and “people that don’t”.  Whether you file people based on race, personality, financial status, religion, or success, you probably struggle with “people-filing”.  Jesus’ story, on the other hand, taught that “everybody counts”.  I see a two-step process with two-category thinking in my own life though:

Step one – you start to believe that some people count and some people don’t.

Step two – over time you start to believe that you don’t count.

This cycle has been vicious in my life and led not only to a loss of love for other people but to slavery and fear during times when I’m convinced that I don’t count.  Sin and pain all around.  So I’m asking – what do you do once you’ve noticed that you’re a two-category thinker???

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 25, 2008 6:32 pm

    Jesus taught us to love one another and to love our neighbor as ourselves. For no man hates his own flesh. He also taught that there is no greater love than to, lay your life down for a friend: then, He laid His life down for us.

    He did not consider, those who count and those who do not. For God so loved the world (not just some people…everyone) that He gave His only Son, that whoever believes in Him will not perrish but have everlasting life.

    Everyone counts in God’s eyes. He created each person with a purpose and for His good pleasure. Knowing God’s will for our lives gives us purpose. Seek His will and He will give you love for the unlovable.

  2. Cindy permalink
    August 25, 2008 9:53 pm

    This new look into the parable of the Good Samaritan has been eye opening for me. I never thought of it this way, “those who count and those who don’t”, wow I have put people in that catagory unknowingly, all my life. I have also had times in my life that I felt that I don’t count as well.

    An awesome lesson to learn, that everyone counts. It really makes me look at people differently now. Thank you, Pastor Josh for listening to what God wants us to hear.

  3. Scott Shoopman permalink
    August 26, 2008 11:47 am

    Well, what to do when I realize I am a two-category thinker? First – evaluate. No virtually every action I take, every conversation I enter into, every relationship I build will always have this truth permeated into the mind. I think that I will have to be VERY intentional about denying my two category system. Even when my actions seem to be accepting, what is my “heart” really telling me? Tough assignment, tougher to apply knowbedience.

  4. Gina permalink
    August 27, 2008 12:15 am

    Great teaching, Josh. With this different perspective, I am confident that I will make a conscious effort to eliminate any two category decisions. This being said, I know this will not be an easy task and may be one that I fail at times. Unfortunately, it is difficult to stay in the one category mindset when daily work clearly is two category. In the corporate world, uppermanagement is clearly the category that counts. I’ll give it my best shot.

  5. howertonjosh permalink
    August 27, 2008 11:08 am

    I agree, Gina. The world is dominated by a two-category mindset. We’re going to need help from outside the world for one category thinking to become instinct.

Leave a Reply

