Skip to content

continuing the conversation – underprivileged?

September 7, 2008

Another great gathering yesterday.  So far my experience has been that it is truly something special to gather with The Bridge for worship.  So, we probably talked about the most difficult of Jesus’ teachings so far yesterday in his story of the blessed beggar.  The thing I left thinking about the most today was Jesus’ teaching that the wealthy (anyone that doesn’t have to worry about their next meal) are the underprivileged.  Here’s what happens to me when all is well in my life and I feel “wealthy”…

– when all is well, I cease to be aware of how badly I need God.

– when I don’t feel like I need anything, my friendships and marriage suffer because independence is an option.  I don’t have to be vulnerable.

– when the pleasure of physical possessions is available to me, I settle for it and miss out on the greater pleasure that can be found in a deep, spiritual relationship with God.

– when my life feels “wealthy”, I don’t pray.

I guess the funny thing is that I think that I’ll be happy when God takes care of all of my wants, but when He does I’m miserable because I drift away from Him.  What happens to you when your soul begins to feel wealthy?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. howertonjosh permalink
    September 7, 2008 10:35 pm

    This is a public dare for the two ladies I talked to yesterday about being intimidated to comment (names will remain undisclosed) to post a comment. We won’t bite, I promise!

  2. Andrea Wandell permalink
    September 8, 2008 11:10 am

    Thank you Josh for rightly dividing the word for us this Sunday.

    When I feel wealthy, I don’t hunger and thirst for His water, water that never runs dry. I tend to satiate my mild appetite with temporary things that do not satisfy. This is why the poor are “blessed”. They are totally resting in the hand of God for their daily bread. We’ve prayed the prayer the way you discussed it. “Give us our daily bread”, but usually only After racing around trying to “make things work”. I’m learning that I can spend hours investigating ways to save money, squeeze out every last drop, and earn wealth, but if I am missing my daily bread of seeking to delight in the Lord, then I am missing everything. That’s why Christ calls himself The Bread of Life. “I am the bread of life. He who comes to me will never go hungry, and he who believes in me will never be thirsty.” John 6:35. Christ wasn’t just talking about our physical bodies when he said this.

  3. Sue Slack permalink
    September 8, 2008 12:20 pm

    I’m sorry………..my mind is still on the image of George Clooney. When I can clear my mind and dwell on spiritual matters I’ll let you know………….

  4. howertonjosh permalink
    September 8, 2008 2:10 pm

    I might need to call Steve.

Leave a Reply

