Skip to content

what i want my small group to be

September 9, 2008

So I’m really excited about launching mine and Jana’s Small Group for Infuse.  I’ve been thinking a lot about what it looks like to live the radically relational life that Jesus exampled and I actually think I’ve seen it before.  Ladies and Gentlemen, I present to you “The Knights of the Oval Table”.

Here are some true things about these guys:

– We met every week in a storage room in our college’s commons area around an old conference table to confess brutal sin to each other, talk about life and the Scriptures, and pray for each other.

– There’s not a guy in those pictures that I haven’t wanted to punch at one time or another (and have in a couple instances… cough… Jon, Greg, and Josh).

– There’s not a guy in those pictures that I haven’t wept over in prayer or one that hasn’t wept over me in prayer.

– If I had to choose men to go into battle with tomorrow, you’re looking at them up there.

– The things I know about these guys could probably get them fired.

– The things they know about me would probably make you want to fire me!

– I can tell any one of them anything and know that they won’t think any less of me or love me any less – and they know that the same goes for them.

– FUN FACTS: Jon Reed looks like a white Tiger Woods, Greg Talley is smarter and more loving than anyone that will read this blog, Seth has a large Pheonix tattooed on his back, Josh once ate 6 or 7 plates of beef and potatoes and then ran a mile for $10, Eric never under any circumstances loses a game of Monopoly.

What group of people have you experienced the closest relationships of your life with?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Sir TW permalink
    September 10, 2008 7:25 am

    Thanks Josh.

  2. Seth Massa permalink
    September 10, 2008 9:35 am

    Yeah, that really means a lot, and the line “the thingsI know about these guys could probably get them fired”–oh so true. Thanks for being a true friend and not getting me fired. LOL.

  3. howertonjosh permalink
    September 10, 2008 10:23 am

    It’s as true for me as it is for you, Seth. (The church doesn’t know about my days as an assassin-for-hire yet.)

  4. September 10, 2008 11:53 am

    It should also be mentioned that I am still on a 12-year winning streak of paper-rock-scissors.

    Love you brother.

  5. Andrea Wandell permalink
    September 10, 2008 2:20 pm

    I THOUGHT that was John Reed in the picture. I was in youth group with him when we were younger (believe it or not!)

Leave a Reply

