Skip to content

the heavens [scream]…

September 22, 2008

I read a blog post yesterday (here) from an astronomer that sees God’s fingerprints in his field… a lot.  You might have seen these but if you haven’t, check out these pictures.  Keep in mind; these are un-edited pictures.  Nothing has been done to them.

I distinctly remember looking up at a starry night sky as a child and feeling comforted that God was closer than I might’ve thought.  Looking at these this morning brought that same sense of awe and wonder… and smallness.

What things remind you of the closeness of God?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Cindy permalink
    September 23, 2008 8:48 am

    I feel the closeness of God, especially when He answers a specific prayer within seconds, i.e. when I have asked specifically to show me a particular answer to something I am going through. I open my Bible and WOW!! Nothing vague, just straight to the point, the answer I so needed and so quickly. This has happened to me many times and I am always overwhelmed at His promptness and love. It causes me to rejoice and break out in praise!!!

  2. Scott Shoopman permalink
    September 23, 2008 8:55 am

    The birth of a baby, and now the pictures from ultra-sounds that capture the development of the baby – amazing! Almost as amazng is a new tree and looking at a full grown tree towering over and estimating that the “parent” tree is much older than I am – the new tree may be around for my great grandkids to climb… the beauty of sunsets and sunrises, the power in the wind, the underestimated need of water…these are the things I think about often that turn my thoughts to God and the mystery of why He cares for me… I’m just glad He does…

  3. Mary Bea permalink
    September 23, 2008 10:09 am

    The amazing details of His creation…not only in the heavens but here on our planet, in our bodies, and even in the tiniest of insects…He created this amazing world, and universe in 6 days…and has been working on our heavenly home for 2000 years…imagine the detail we have waiting for us there!!…I know it should make me feel small and distant from God…but this same God did all this for ME…this gives me a warm fuzzy feeling–like I’m curled up in His lap in His great big easy chair in the sky…

Leave a Reply

