Skip to content

continuing the conversation – Infuse wk 1

October 5, 2008

Today was a great kickoff to Infuse.  Jana and I got to meet with our Infuse Group for the first time this Wednesday and loved them.  (On second thought, Allison, I might pay to get Boomer a blood transfusion… might)

This morning, we listened to Jesus pray for his church to be theological, relational, and missional.  This is a life-time goal for me: to see The Bridge become truly radical in all three areas – theology, relationship, and mission.  I’ve read about, visited, heard about, and been a part of a lot of churches, but have sadly only known about a handful in all of history that were Theological + Relational + Missional.  Most look like one of these equations…  

Theological + Relational – MIssional = Monasticism (a life so focused on knowing God and loving Christians that Mission is ignored)

Theological + Missional – Relational = Fundamentalism (a life of legalism that comes from being so locked in on “obeying God” that the grace of relationship is ignored)

Relational + Missional – Theological = Liberalism (good theology is abandoned out of a desire to see people love Jesus and each other)

Which one of these pitfalls do you personally lean toward – Monasticism , Fundamentalism, or Liberalism?  Why?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. howertonjosh permalink
    October 5, 2008 11:59 pm

    I’ll start. I oscillate between a “monastic” lifestyle and a fundamentalist lifestyle. Mission is my area of greatest weakness of the three.

  2. Marlene permalink
    October 6, 2008 8:55 am

    My weak areas are “relational” and “missional”…missons because it requires me to step out of my comfort zone. Sharing the Word can make us feel uneasy or apprehensive – afraid we will say the wrong thing or be asked to explain or “justify” the scriptures..we must remember that it is His word and He doesn’t need us to justify any of it.

    The “relational” part is getting easier..especially since I have been attending the Bridge…I tend to put on the “I’m good-I’m just fine” face..but I have found such a comfort level with the small group I’m attending that I can freely share my fears and daily struggles(and tears) and know that these people truly care for me..there is no judgement from them …just sincere love! God is good!

  3. Lynn permalink
    October 6, 2008 9:42 am

    I guess by those standards I lean towards “liberalism”. Sometimes it doesn’t make sense to me to tell someone something that will offend them when they don’t know Christ yet. It does bother me when people focus on parts of the Bible that make people angry because I want to see more people follow Christ. BUT I’ve started to realize that the gospel is offensive and that this is a weakness of mine.

Trackbacks

  1. Jesus loves marital dating « .. pastor’s blog ..
  2. LIVE BLOG: Staff Retreat ‘08 « .. pastor’s blog ..

Leave a Reply

