Skip to content

Jesus loves marital dating

October 6, 2008

INFUSE GROUPS: The Infuse post is located here.  Click the link and respond to this week’s Infuse question to share with The Bridge.

_____________________

Justin Eason, one of my great friends, used to say “Satan hates the family.”  That phrase has stuck with me because the holiness of family is one of the truly dominant theological themes in the New Testament.  Nothing, including leading The Bridge, is more intimidating to me than God’s command (here) for me to pastor Jana and my future family.  As a dude, it’s more comfortable for me to sit on the couch and watch a UFC fight or football “together” than go on a date with Jana and talk about feelings, but God’s command is for husbands to “love their wives just as Christ loved the church”.  To do that, husbands need to find ways to treat their wives in such a way that makes them aware of how much they’re loved by them and by Jesus.

This article was in the Nashville Metromix this week: Six Dirt Cheap Dates.  So yesterday (Monday’s my day off), Jana and I went to see the art exhibit at Vandy, took a walk around Centennial Park, and tried the Chili Con Queso at San Antonio Taco Company on 23rd Ave (which I highly recommend).

The whole date cost us $4.00 plus gas and we had a great time.  The only drawback was finding out the hard way that Andy Warhol’s art Polaroids were mainly nudes… you can’t win em’ all.  

What ways have you found to connect as a couple without breaking the bank or losing too much time?

PS – guest blogger Grandpastor Rick tomorrow!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. brian permalink
    October 7, 2008 2:15 am

    Walking some trails in a local forest is a great way for me and my lady to have a good cheap time. I also love to pick a VERY hard to understand and controversial passage of scripture and talk about it, when we are still clueless after talking about it we will consult some commentaries for guidance.

    Going to a local high school football or basketball game is also fun for us.

  2. Shelley permalink
    October 7, 2008 9:16 am

    Dating is so good yet so often a neglected part of a marriage. There was an overwhelming “I can’t remember our last date” among most (all?) of the couples at our small group on Sunday simply because of life with young children. There were years when my dh and I went out only once or twice a year when ours were little, and I love now having children old enough and responsible enough that we can leave them for a couple of hours and run get some dessert close-by. (I love this season of life!!) But it was HARD when they were small — so that’s a very real challenge among a body of believers with so many children….. I try to look for opportunities to give the “gift” of a date night to my friends with little ‘uns b/c I well remember those years!!

  3. Shelley permalink
    October 7, 2008 9:30 am

    btw, I think it’s great that you & Jana date. Thanks for the encouragement & cheap ideas. (….And I guess the title of the art show you saw makes a little more sense now….”Line Up, Strip Down, Fade Out:”! Andy Warhol was always a little out there!)

  4. Jana permalink
    October 7, 2008 11:34 am

    haha. Shelley, you would have thought we would have noticed the title, but it never even crossed our minds. I definitely like Brian’s ideas for dates. Josh and I both enjoy hiking and family devotion time as well. God is so good in how he knits our hearts closer together when we spend time in the word and in prayer together. I love my husband!

Leave a Reply

