Skip to content

Infuse week 4 – Missional

October 27, 2008

Yesterday was one of those days that makes you proud to be a member of The Bridge.  A lot of churches “do missions”.  The Bridge is truly missional.

On Missions Sunday, we look back at everything The Bridge accomplished missionally in the previous year and Susan, our Missions Minister, casts vision for the future as well.  The most shocking moment of the morning for me was seeing everything we’d done listed on-screen for us to see.  In small print it took almost two full pages to list all of the missions endeavors we’d tackled.  Thank you, thank you, thank you for being the church you are, Bridge Family!

I’m kind of cheating here, but need to ask a question for next week’s Gathering instead of recapping yesterday.  What is your greatest fear when it comes to talking to someone about your faith?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 27, 2008 8:18 am

    That they will either ask e a question about scripture and I won’t have the answer or they will twist a scripture that’s not true and make me feel stupid. That won’t weaken my faith…it will just make me feel inadequate.

  2. Alan Hood permalink
    October 27, 2008 9:20 am

    The biggest fear? That they will not want to hear what I have to say. Just myself getting in the way honestly and allowing Christ to work through me.

  3. Jordan permalink
    October 27, 2008 10:31 am

    Honestly, embarrassment is my biggest fear. Not the kind of embarrassment where you do something stupid around friends. Friends will still love you for who you are. The kind of embarrassment where I don’t know the person I’m talking to well enough that they won’t think I’m an idiot. I’m always so terrified that the person I’m talking to is going to write me off as a strange idiot and I’ll lose any future chance of being taken seriously by that person.

  4. Marianne Shoopman permalink
    October 27, 2008 12:32 pm

    That I will come off sounding so “churchy” instead of naturally conversational that they will tune me out as someone serious to listen to.

  5. Mary Bea permalink
    October 27, 2008 2:18 pm

    I’m kinda in the same boat with Jordan and Marianne…I tend to focus so much on my fear of saying the wrong thing or sounding the wrong way that I can’t ever seem to get out of the way of what the Holy Spirit might say through me.

  6. Susan Howerton permalink
    October 27, 2008 2:51 pm

    My not trusting the Holy Spirit in me enough to not worry about “messing it up” and blowing any future chances of them listening to me or other Christians about their faith is my greatest fear. My head knows that the Holy Spirit is at work before I open my mouth and He is the one who does the work and opens their hearts but I put too much weight on myself and my ability to “say the right things or explain the right way” when their decision actually has nothing to do with my ability and everything to do with the Holy Spirit’s conviction and preparation. My faith is not always strong enough to step out and trust.

  7. Cindy permalink
    October 27, 2008 5:23 pm

    That they won’t BELIEVE!

  8. Shi Hood permalink
    October 27, 2008 6:51 pm

    I think my greatest fear is failure. I think if thye don’t accept Christ right away, then I haven’t done my job in sharing it the right way.

Leave a Reply

