Skip to content

how could God do this to us?

November 1, 2008

It’s 8:00am on a cloudless, crisp Saturday morning.  I just finished a devotion from Philemon with my beautiful wife Jana at my favorite coffee shop after waking up in a loving marriage.  It’s going to be an incredible 74 degrees today (in November!?) and we’re going to spend it laughing and talking and story-telling with our closest friends around a campfire… all saved by Jesus.

It struck me this morning that we usually ask “How could God do this to me?” when something terrible happens, but that we should really be asking that question on days like today because we deserve punishment and not peace, love, friendship, laughter, and salvation.

I should be surprised that…

– My grandfather didn’t die today.

– There wasn’t a terrorist attack on the news when I woke up.

– My wife doesn’t have stage III skin cancer.

– God doesn’t feel thousands of miles away and hidden behind a dark cloud.

– None of my friends committed suicide last night.

How could God do this to us?… because He is a God of love who offers grace through faith in Jesus.  Thank you, Jesus for Luke 13:1-5.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Kay Barnes permalink
    November 2, 2008 4:25 pm

    WOW! Spoke to me and I would bet LOTS OF THOSE THINGS did happen to you in past months right? GOD IS GOOD ALL THE TIME! KK

  2. Mary Bea permalink
    November 2, 2008 5:53 pm

    Thanks for an awesome weekend Bridge Family!!

  3. November 2, 2008 6:16 pm

    Man, thank you so much Josh and staff and elders and EVERYONE for joining in what God was already at work doing this weekend. What a sweet, sweet time with our church family. I am so thankful for all of you. Wish it could’ve lasted days and days longer. Maybe next year! Thanks for sharing your hearts, your time, your families, and yourselves. We love The Bridge! You are our family.

  4. Marianne Shoopman permalink
    November 5, 2008 12:05 pm

    Wow! Thanks for those eye-opening thoughts Josh!

  5. November 12, 2008 10:27 pm

    Best Christmas movie is a toss up for me between “It’s a Wonderful Life” and “White Christmas”

Leave a Reply

