Skip to content

back from vacation

November 7, 2008

Jana and I rolled back into town last night from our first vacation since August of ’07.  We’re just not good at scheduling vacations.  We turned the phones off, had no internet access, our cabin in Pisgah, AL was without cable, and we literally didn’t see a human unless we went to the grocery or took the 30 minute drive to the “big, big city” (in the words of a Pisgah citizen) of Scottsboro… which had two sit-down restaurants.

234262212741

our cabin

Our best day, by far, was Wednesday when we spontaneously decided to take a road-trip down to Gulf Shores where we were married.  We spent the entire day re-living our best memories from our marriage/honeymoon weekend…

A few thoughts after a great vacation…

– The Bridge is not my life, my God and my family are.  It’s easy for me to let The Bridge dominate my thoughts sun-up to sun-down because God is doing so much right now.  Paradoxically, 1 Timothy says that I’m not going to be the pastor God wants me to be if I let the church eclipse my God and my family in my heart.  I experienced this truth this week.

– It’s worth it to do the hard work of being a Biblical husband.  I promised Jana to lead and love her when we covenanted marriage together and I’ve become lazy in those things.  I really focused on them this week and saw immediate payoff in our relationship.

– I need to find un-rushed, “quiet places” in my life to seek God.  Jesus did it.  I should do it.  I should not expect to feel God’s presence after 10 min of rushed time in the morning, trying to speed-read a chapter before a meeting.  Solitude is where he calls us to seek Him.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Shelley permalink
    November 8, 2008 1:16 pm

    What a rich time you had together! So glad you two were able to refocus and get refreshed. The things God reminded you of this week get even harder after kids arrive on the scene, so learn them well now!! Glad you’re back (but even “gladder” you got away!)

  2. Shelley permalink
    November 8, 2008 1:18 pm

    p.s. You know, for a pastor’s family, it’s not truly a “vacation” unless you’re away over a Sunday…..(take it from me, a PK)

  3. Shelley permalink
    November 8, 2008 1:24 pm

    wait — you know that, Josh — you’re a pk too! (duh!!–directed at me!!)

Leave a Reply

