Skip to content

new leadership staff profile: Jana Howerton

December 1, 2008

One of the things I’m most excited about right now in the life of The Bridge is God continuing to assemble a GREAT leadership staff.  Not good.  Great.  Leadership of The Bridge’s Children’s Ministry is one of our most important areas of leadership for a few reasons:

1) A lot of young families in Spring Hill are willing to drift back into church because they’re having kids.  The Children’s Ministry is often the most important thing to them about the church at first.

2) They’re our kids and we want them to grow “in the fear and instruction” of Jesus.

3) The Children’s Ministry is the most volunteer-intensive thing The Bridge does.

A few weeks ago The Elders were excited to introduce our new Children’s Minister to the church.  I wanted to take a chance to formally “blog-introduce” her to our internet community.  Please give a welcome to… drumroll…  JANA HOWERTON!

234895719685Some questions I asked Jana for today’s post:

What’s most exciting to you about leading The Bridge’s Children’s Ministry?

I am most excited to be able to partner with parents to see their Children grow in the knowledge and love of Jesus. 

Name the best book you’ve ever read, band you’ve ever heard, and movie you’ve ever seen…

Best book….I’m not sure, but some that stand out include: A Quest for More by Paul David Tripp, Faithful Women and Their Extraordinary God by Noel Piper and most of the Narnia books.

Best band would probably be The David Crowder band, or some oldies band like The Association or The Beatles.

Best movie, no question in my mind at all is Pride and Prejudice!!! I just love it!

Would you rather be able to stop time while you sleep or never need to do laundry?

I would probably choose to stop time because that would add 8 more hours to my day, including plenty of time to get all of the laundry finished.

Favorite restaurant and thing you get there?

This is a tough one.  Probably P.F. Chang’s because I love their vegetarian lettuce wraps, but Taco Express’ Supreme Quesadilla is a fairly close second.

What authors have been the most influential to you?

Nancy Leigh Demoss, Elizabeth George, Paul David Tripp, Elyse Fitzpatrick, David Powlison, John Piper, wow, my list could go on!

_________________

There she is, ladies and gentlemen.  Welcome her to the show!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. December 2, 2008 12:55 pm

    Welcome Jana! We are so glad to have you!
    I don’t know many women who don’t love Pride and Prejudice! That’s one of my favorites too.
    What exciting times these are at The Bridge!

  2. Julie Howerton permalink
    December 2, 2008 2:12 pm

    Most of you know that until their condo sells Josh and Jana are living with us. Living with someone 24/7 really helps you know the core of a person. I have always loved and respected Jana, but I do so EVEN MORE after seeing how she lives her life daily. Jana knows the importance of spending time with God daily to reach her potential in Christ. She is very organized and diligent and an excellent role model. She spends most of her day doing for others. I have every confidence that she will be an amazing Children’s Pastor.

  3. Sue permalink
    December 2, 2008 4:32 pm

    I for one am THRILLED that Jana is on board as our children’s minister. I am looking forward to what God has in store for our kiddos in 2009.

  4. Mary Bea permalink
    December 2, 2008 6:38 pm

    In the words of McKenna…”I like that pretty lady, she’s nice!”

  5. Shi permalink
    December 2, 2008 8:26 pm

    I am so excited about Jana being Children’s Pastor. I have come to love and respect her and in the time we’ve spent together I have found out that she is very wise and caring. The children are in good hands and I know God will do amazing things through her leadership!! Welcome Jana!!!

  6. Becky permalink
    December 2, 2008 11:06 pm

    Coming from someone with LOTS of kids in the children’s ministry, and more yet to come, I am very excited to see Jana in this position. She seems such a natural fit. I know she will do her best and seek the Lord in all she is involved in. Jana has such a genuine openness and honesty about her. What a blessing to have her!! We’ll all be praying for you, Jana, as you take on this responsibility. I know you will handle it well!

  7. Becky permalink
    December 2, 2008 11:07 pm

    P.S. Josh ~ you’re one lucky man!

  8. josh permalink
    December 3, 2008 12:25 am

    Yes I am!

  9. Jana Howerton permalink
    December 3, 2008 11:17 am

    Wow…thank you all. I am truly humbled!

  10. Susan Howerton permalink
    December 3, 2008 3:58 pm

    I’m so excited to have Jana on board as a fellow staff member! Her level of expectation for herself and the hopes and dreams she has for this ministry are exciting and challenging to me. She will always be giving herself and her gifts to God 100% and praying continuously for His guidance and wisdom. That’s just who she is… a humble woman dedicated to service, hard work, honesty, prayer, integrity, and a passion for knowing Christ and leading the lost to Him. I look forward to all God will teach me through her. Not only will she be a great teacher and leader for our kids but such a great model. We love you, Jana, and are so thankful to God for, once again, providing so graciously for The Bridge.

  11. Shelley permalink
    December 4, 2008 4:45 pm

    our whole family is thrilled for Jana to be the children’s minister! she has already found her way into my childrens’ hearts. our prayers are with you, Jana!

Trackbacks

  1. Two thoughts from a great Sunday « .. pastor’s blog ..

Leave a Reply

