Skip to content

Two thoughts from a great Sunday

December 2, 2008

First, apologies to everyone for being blog-challenged.  My own ignorance has led to a morning of sadness as I accidentally deleted the last five posts, including two of my favorites so far (Bridge Heroes – Dale Kinnard and the Christmas Movies post in which Alan began talking smack in the comments section).

Sunday was a great gathering for The Bridge from the standpoint of God working in people’s lives.  Two things stick out to me about when God chooses to move:

1)  Whenever there’s a “down week” (like Thanksgiving week), I settle into a mode of not thinking much is going to happen and don’t anticipate Sunday’s gathering as much as I normally would… and then God moves powerfully.  This week was one of those.  We were down in attendance, I began thinking my human thoughts, and then God decided to anoint our gathering possibly to remind me that He’s interested in more than just a big crowd.

2)  Whenever I think that a sermon or gathering bombed, God seems to redeem it.  I didn’t think my sermon this week was horrible, but I didn’t walk away feeling great about it either.  Preaching is the most important thing I do all week, so I usually try and put somewhere in the neighborhood of at minimum 20 hrs into a sermon.  I want to be as theologically thorough, creative, pastoral, practical, and prepared as I can possibly be.  Some weeks sermon preparation flows like water; this week it flowed like cement… dry cement.

The funny thing is that my whole life whenever I’ve had a week like that and I finish discouraged, God seems to take my weakest offering and empower it to move more than He normally would.  So many people have emailed, texted, and called about this week’s sermon that I’ve just had to sit back and re-realize that what we’re doing at The Bridge isn’t about us and our gifts.  I just find myself saying again…

Wow.  God really is in this thing.

PS – this is today’s second post.  We’ll be introducing new leadership to The Bridge through the blog and started today at this post.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Sue permalink
    December 2, 2008 3:09 pm

    I for one am THRILLED that Jana is on board as our children’s minister. I am looking forward to what God has in store for our kiddos in 2009.

  2. Sue permalink
    December 2, 2008 3:11 pm

    OOPS! I’m blog-challenged too…..this was supposed to be under the introduction for Jana. Sorry!

  3. Shi permalink
    December 2, 2008 8:23 pm

    I felt the Lord in a strong way Sunday and I was so blessed by the sermon! God really spoke through you. Thank you for being open to His leading!

  4. Susan Howerton permalink
    December 3, 2008 3:43 pm

    I have actually witnessed LuAnn share your sermon (all the nuts and bolts of the scripture) and how it impacted her 3 separate times with 3 separate groups since Sunday. One of those groups was Room-in-the-Inn with 12 homeless guests and others. The sermon and illustration of you standing between 2 prostitutes and realizing no one is more righteous than the other really hit home with her and I think with all of us. I love watching God work through LuAnn and I know He is so evident because she is so open and desiring to be used by Him and gives Him all the glory. Her daily walk with Christ always challenges me. It was an awesome sermon, one I’m sure Satan was working hard to prevent… too bad for Him!

Leave a Reply

