Skip to content

alright, God… what are you doing?

December 14, 2008

I’ll do the “continuing the conversation” post tomorrow about James 3:2-12.  I want us to take a day to reflect on the significance of what happened today.  There were so many reasons for us to scale back on our goal of $12,000 for this year’s Gift For Christ offering:

  1. New, young pastor.  “What’s this kid think he’s doing!?”…right?
  2. The goal was “too high” in the first place.  Growing or not, church plants of 100-120 people aren’t supposed to be able to give $12,000 in one day ABOVE our normal offering.
  3. Bad economy.  This was supposed to be the worst time in recent memory to set a high financial goal.
  4. We didn’t benefit from this offering.  This wasn’t going to a build a Recreation Center, buy a “church van”, or juice up our tech equipment.  Every penny of this offering was going to help meet OTHER people’s needs… not ours.

If everything went as it “should” have, we would’ve made it a little over halfway (maybe $8,000), cheered the fact that we gave that much, and left understanding that “this just wasn’t the year”.  But instead, in the face of everything being stacked against us even reaching our goal, we are already $1,200 over and multiple families made it clear that they forgot their offering today and would be giving it next week.  

$13,279.25. That’s what The Bridge gave today, and I wish everyone could’ve seen what I saw – child after child reaching up to drop bags of change they’d saved from allowances into the offering.

I’m a little overwhelmed still and find myself wondering, “Alright, God… what are you doing?”  God is doing so much so powerfully in our midst right now.  I’m just a little giddy thinking about what we’ll have seen Him do this time next year.  Whatever it is, I’m in…

So that’s what I’m left thinking.  What do you see God doing?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. December 15, 2008 8:21 am

    I see God 1) unifying a group of Jesus followers around a pastor with a vision to change the world through Christ, 2) an elder body who gets it, 3) putting together a staff that will model Christ-likeness for us and lead us to “be my witnesses.” and a people ready to be led places we’ve never gone before.

  2. Sue permalink
    December 15, 2008 8:54 am

    Year after year I hear the goal for Gift for Christ, look around the pews (chairs) and think to myself “no way”. You’d think that after four years of being at The Bridge and participating in gift for Christ that I’d learn that God will do “exceedingly abundantly beyond all we could ask or think”. I’m praising the Lord along with everyone else at The Bridge this morning.

  3. December 15, 2008 9:03 am

    I simply see him using us. As long as we are faithful he will continue to use The Bridge. It is humbling to think that He has to use us to get His work accomplished.

  4. December 15, 2008 9:04 am

    Let me rephrase that last statement. He chooses to use us to get his work done. I want to be a part of whatever He is doing.

  5. Dave Hall permalink
    December 15, 2008 9:27 am

    We need to set our goal for 2009 to double. $25,000.00
    We should also double our attendance.

  6. Julie Howerton permalink
    December 15, 2008 11:04 am

    I too am praising God for what he’s going to do through this offering. I’m also praising God for the opportunity to be with such awesome servants of Christ each week. I love you all SO much.

  7. December 15, 2008 11:21 am

    I see more families in Spring Hill beginning to out their faith in the God of Abraham instead of a self made rescue plan. I see people living with peace and hope in our God. I see God igniting a deep sorrowful heart for the lostness around us and building relationships with lost people this next year that we never could’ve imagined. I see those people joining us in community at The Bridge and finding Jesus Christ.

  8. Shelley permalink
    December 15, 2008 4:14 pm

    I love that The Bridge has a vision for the lost & hurting & hungry in Spring Hill AS WELL AS in Tennessee, the States, and the World. Too many churches have a long-distance vision, but you guys are touching lives right here in our ‘hood. Awesome to be a part of that!

  9. Susan Howerton permalink
    December 15, 2008 5:21 pm

    There is no way I can fully express my continued AWE and gratitude to God and His faithful children at The Bridge. It is amazing to continue, year after year, to see what God can do with a few willing people who are sold out to Jesus and totally believing God can multiply our offerings, whether monetary or our gifts and abilities. I ask for the prayers of everyone at The Bridge that as His servant and your Missions Pastor I would always be sensitive, wise, and obedient with these offerings, to the direction He is leading us each year. We only want to be where He wants us to be, do what He wants us to do, go where He wants us to go, and BE who He wants us to be. To desire or do anything else would be futile, foolish, hopeless, unfulfilling, disobedient, and sad. I’m so overwhelmed and thankful to be part of The Bridge family. I love you all so much!

  10. Scott permalink
    December 17, 2008 12:47 pm

    I love the way God continues to grow my faith. It was with some concern that I agreed with the other Elders for our goal of $12,000 for the Gift for Christ offering. How often do I “limit” my faith based on my own circumstances and fail to look at God’s provision. God is good!!

Leave a Reply

