Skip to content

the “other” times

December 16, 2008

I can often characterize the trend of my passion for Jesus as a “slow fade”.  For apparently no reason at all, I’ll have a season of life when I’m thirsty for God… immediately followed by “other times” when I have to “fight for joy” and train my heart.  I hate the other times because I long for my heart to pant for Jesus like it did.  This is one of the “other” times for me.  I was thinking about things that seem to heighten my thirst for God.  Here’s my list so far:

Early mornings and hot coffee with Scripture

– Walks through cemeteries

– Books by Puritans – John Owen, Jonathan Edwards, Jeremiah Burroughs, Richard Baxter

– Reading great preachers’ sermons – Charles Spurgeon and Martin Lloyd-Jones are my favorites

– Reading Christian biography

– Rich conversations about missiology or eschatology

– Long drives with good music.  It doesn’t have to be Christian music, but it does have to be good music.

– Journaling

Here’s a list of things that seem to dull my love for Jesus:

– Following sports too much

– Watching a lot of TV

– Extended time wasted on the internet

– Being physically lazy

– Staying up late for no reason

– Empty conversations

I don’t know why some of these things have the effect on me they do; they just do.  What drives your heart to God?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 17, 2008 10:40 am

    Painful life situations over which I have no control, when longings to see the church become the sacrificial and beautiful Bride of Christ seem so far out of reach in the culture in which we emerse ourselves that it seems to be an impossibility, after a great sermon at The Bridge or hearing someone else teach the Bible with passion, a day’s drive listening to music that reminds me of times when I was so close to God I heard His voice and longed for Him with all of my heart

  2. Susan Howerton permalink
    December 17, 2008 11:40 am

    Things that drive my heart to God:
    – verbally praising God with other believers for answered prayers and miracles we’ve seen Him do, (don’t do nearly enough but find lots of other unimportant stuff to yack about.)
    – serving Him by serving the overlooked, least fortunate and discarded people in our society, (this is when I feel closest to God)
    – waking up and trying to stay focused on constantly asking God what He wants me to do for Him today and staying sensitive to who He wants me to serve, needs He wants me to meet, who He may want me to share with and then being obedient to stop what I’m doing and do it. Trying to remember that I am alive today for a reason… His purpose, to be used.
    – watching my children striving to listen to and follow Christ daily, usually more faithfully than me.

  3. Scott permalink
    December 17, 2008 12:54 pm

    Miracles – and they are all around us!! Seeing a new baby, watching the color of leaves change, having God work in my life unexpectedly, the hug of a friend, stars at night, a new insight from scripture that I have read many times, a change of seasons, watching your kids grow – physically and spiritually, funerals, thinking of friends and family no longer with us, the love of my wife; these are the things that drive my heart to God.

  4. josh permalink
    December 18, 2008 12:13 am

    I would also like to add blasting great worship music in my car alone and worshipping completely unhindered. Theologically rich songs find their ways into some deep places in my heart during these times.

  5. Becky permalink
    December 18, 2008 4:27 am

    ~ looking out at the back yard after the snow a few days ago with the moon shining so brightly it seemed almost day light. All was quiet, still, and peaceful. Only an awesome God could do that!

    ~ listening to my older kids in the van all singing “Give Me Your Eyes” and praying that the words they’re singing are making an impact on their little hearts.

    ~ spending time in nature…at the zoo…at the beach…in a national park. It could not have all happened by chance. No way.

Leave a Reply

