Skip to content

Taco Express

December 19, 2008

Taco Express

 

Taco Express

 

I have a weakness for good, cheap Mexican and Chinese food.  When Jana and I first moved here, I made a point to try and make the rounds and have landed on the hands-down, not even close, winner of the Mexican/Chinese sweepstakes.  Taco Express.

We’ve got confirmed readers from Nevada, California, Texas, Kentucky, and Tennessee.  Taco Express is worth the drive for any of you.  Now, I’ll warn you beforehand.  These are some reasons that Taco Express might not be for you…

– If you like personal space. The whole restaurant is no bigger than my parents living room.

– If you’re big on ambiance or atmosphere.  The most decorative thing about Taco Express is the pencil drawing of a mouse (probably not the best choice for a restaurant) on a piece of notebook paper on the wall next to the register.

– If you like the place to look clean.  I’m sure it is clean because they passed their health inspection… but it’s not exactly shiny.

– If you’re prejudiced against restaurants that share a building with a gas station.

If you’re still interested, here is Taco Express in all it’s glory…

For your money, you will not find better Mexican.  Oscar (last name unavailable) started this restaurant that sits next to the Shell station on Hwy 31 about five years ago with his father’s hometown, authentic Mexican recipes.  Oscar’s father is rumored to still run the same restaurant in south Mexico.  With Taco Express, it’s big portions for small cash.  I recommend the Chicken Chimichanga.  Your whole meal will cost you $4.75 and should be good for two meals if you get rice as a side (I’m a big Mexican eater and can stretch this to two meals).

Other good items are the Super Nachos, Cheese Dip (universally good in all Mexican Restaurants), Supreme Quesadilla for you vegetarians, and Fish Tacos.  But honestly, you’re not going to order something you don’t like.  Toby Mac, Barlow Girl, various Tennessee Titans, and Sanctus Real are all frequent visitors of the Taco Express in Franklin.  Watch out, they’re not open on Sundays!

Alright, what other restaurants should Jana and I be trying?

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Dale permalink
    December 19, 2008 1:28 pm

    I have been to Taco Express many times, the loaded nachos rock. The green sauce is my preferred topping.
    You have to go to Huff’s grocery in Burwood,have them make you a sandwich and sit on the front porch of the store to eat it.
    Burwood is near Shoopman-ville.

  2. December 19, 2008 4:34 pm

    I’m sad that they’re closed the only day of the week we’re in Spring Hill…
    One day we’ll get to try Taco Express! Josh, if you haven’t tried Blue Island yet, I’d check it out before it closes for good… I think they’re going out of business or something. Nathan and I are very upset about it!

  3. Sue permalink
    December 19, 2008 7:57 pm

    You need to try Henpeck Market on Hwy 31 in Franklin (not too far from Lance and Susan’s casa). The grilled pimento cheese sandwich is excellent. Or ask them to put the pimento cheese on a burger which is Steve’s favorite. Great desserts too!

  4. Sue permalink
    December 19, 2008 9:05 pm

    Henpeck is on hwy 431 in Franklin….

  5. December 20, 2008 9:30 am

    I cannot tell a lie…this looks a bit gross!–but im sure it tastes just fine. We love you and jana & miss spades! hope to see you guys when Caleb arrives!

  6. Mary Bea permalink
    December 20, 2008 12:59 pm

    there’s a great little Mexican place in Columbia…a little better ambiance but it has great buffet (better than LaHacienda, I think) AND a jewelry store…it’s called La Fuenta, I believe…the sandwiches at the Louisiana place in The Commons are good and they serve Community coffee…best coffee on the planet!

  7. Lora permalink
    December 20, 2008 7:00 pm

    Henpeck Market ROCKS for breakfast too!!! Shhh don’t tell Dana I stop there when I have to drop her off at school early….for dinner Dane and I love Sultan Table. If you like greek food, that is a good place. Quick greek food: Greek Cafe in Cool Springs. Both places have Cucumber dressing like no other!!!

  8. josh permalink
    December 20, 2008 11:28 pm

    @Meredith-I’m not sure Taco Express is the Mexican restaurant for you, Mere. Can’t wait to see you and Caleb!

    @Andrea-when you settle in Spring Hill that won’t be a problem (wink & hopeful nudge)

    @Dale-the red sauce is good enough to be soup

  9. December 21, 2008 12:47 am

    Mmmm yes to sultan table! Although I am boy a gyro fan, their chicken tenders and fries are great. As to blue island… Closed a few months back due to tax evasion I believe 😦

    I have to add sunny china to the list! It is our favorite take out Chinese. It is much like taco express in cleanliness and ambiance, and you get a ton for cheap! We love the sweet and sour chicken combo and the seseme beef and brocolli. It is by what will soon be the “old kroger”. Now I am craving some sweet and sour myself! Yum!

  10. December 21, 2008 12:48 am

    Wow, to my above post, I typed that I am not a gyro fan… It spell checked to boy – makes no sense, sorry gang!

  11. Scott Shoopman permalink
    December 23, 2008 12:26 am

    McDonalds in Spring Hill ROCKS!!! Just kidding… Sultan Table is SUPER!! Sunny China is the best Asian food in town, as Dale said, Huff’s Grocery is a great place for a sandwich or raw peanuts (my favorite). For a good steak – go to Legends in Columbia for a good meal without the noise of most newer style eatieries. Don’t forget Target for the best popcorn!!

  12. josh permalink
    December 23, 2008 12:31 pm

    Someone needs to fill me in on Sultan Table. What kind of food and where?

  13. jordan permalink
    December 23, 2008 8:00 pm

    @josh. Sultan table is next to/in the best western by home depot. It is authentic Greek gyros. It is family run – dad knows then all, he helped them buy the place. Very good food and great staff!! They have veggie options or Jana I do believe 🙂

Leave a Reply

