Skip to content

We’re back! – continuing the convo

January 5, 2009

…And we’re back from our mini blog break.  In a great Gathering today (simply awesome) we kicked off a new series called “House Rules” that I’ve been excited about for a couple of months.  Every house has different rules and at the outset of 2009 we’re pausing to remind ourselves of the rules we stick to in God’s house, His church.

This morning was more doctrinal than any other week of this series will be and was nearly impossible impossible to squeeze into one sermon even though we only looked at two verses in 2 Timothy about the nature of Scripture.  Five words describe what The Bible says about itself…

  1. Inspired
  2. Inerrant 
  3. Profitable
  4. Authoritative
  5. Sufficient

We didn’t do anything fancy schmancy.  I didn’t get creative.  We really didn’t do anything apart from saying what Scripture says about itself… but it was powerful today.  The Bible is powerful.  All my life I’ve seen hardly anything more powerful than God’s Word being lifted up where it belongs.  If you’re looking for a New Year’s resolution, start with spiritual disciplines to lift up the place of Scripture in your life this year – memorize it, meditate on it, pray through it, read it, study it… whatever it takes.

Now, I need your help preparing for next week.  What rules did you have in your house that no one else seemed to have in theirs?

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Shelley permalink
    January 5, 2009 12:21 pm

    No riding bikes on Sunday.
    No going to movies. Not even Bambi.

  2. Sue permalink
    January 5, 2009 2:26 pm

    Ditto Shelley’s – no movies. It was a HUGE battle trying to get my parents to let me go see Disney’s “The Goose that Layed the Golden Egg” and I was in jr high school! Yes……that was my first theatre movie…don’t laugh.

  3. Julie Howerton permalink
    January 5, 2009 2:27 pm

    I’ll tell on myself. A rule I made for Josh and Lee that I STILL receive complaints from them about is: “You go to school unless you have a fever or are throwing up.” In my defense Lee had allergies and every day would wake up saying he had an upset stomach and didn’t feel well so if I hadn’t made such a rule, Lee would have missed half of his school days.
    Also Rick and I decided early on that serving time out in a child’s room didn’t make much sense since they had toys, books, and games in there. So when our sons were sent to time out, they were sent to the bathroom.

  4. Shi permalink
    January 5, 2009 2:58 pm

    Like a couple of others, no going to the movies. Also, no pants, no make up, no dating, no music with a beat you might even think about wanting to move to, no sleepovers….. Just to name a few! LOL

  5. Becky permalink
    January 5, 2009 3:58 pm

    Same here with no movies ~ my first theater movie was a Muppets movie and my dad (parents divorced) had to BEG my mom to let him take me! Also, no dancing, no instruments in church except piano and organ…certainly NOT drums! No makeup till at least 13 and then that was pushing it. No dating guys any older than 3 years older than me (yes, I agree with that now but at the time I think I lied a few times about it!) At church EVERY time the doors were open.

  6. January 5, 2009 4:37 pm

    Thank you Josh for spearheading the first Sunday of the year that we make no apologies for Scripture, that Scripture is the Inspired word of God, that we need a passion for the Word of God, that scripture speaks to everything we do at church and in life outside. We need to hear that the first of the year. We need to know in the beginning that, whenever we have questions, we can always look to the authoritative, inspired, inerrant, profitable, sufficient Scripture to know what God desires.

    Now as far as house rules: No phone calls after 9pm. No initiating phone calls with boys, we can only return calls. No boy that honks his horn in the driveway was allowed to take us anywhere. He must come to the front door. No singing at the dinner table. As opposed to Julie’s house rules with school, my parents took each of us out of school maybe one day a semester or year (depending on the business of the year) for a “day with mom” or “day with dad”. It was a special time where we made some great memories and their focus was on one of us instead of all four of us kids. As teenagers and even in college, when we got home from anything late at night we were always supposed to say goodnight to Mom and Dad, even if they were already in bed. Otherwise, they might wake up in the wee hours of the morning looking for me!

    Those are all of the ones I can remember.

  7. January 5, 2009 4:39 pm

    Oooh, I remembered another one. Girls always wore dresses to church unless the temp was 32 degrees or below.
    I can remember watching the weather channel every Sunday praying for cold weather just so I could wear some pants to church!

  8. Scott permalink
    January 5, 2009 5:06 pm

    Hmmm do Non-Rules count?? I remember my father defending the fact that his sons (3 of us) long hair was not of the devil… I think he even compared us to the “complaining” father’s son who happened to have short hair but was a very troubled kid…

  9. Becky permalink
    January 5, 2009 6:47 pm

    Andrea sparked my memory ~ we also were not allowed to call boys; they had to meet mom before we went anywhere; and I wish I had the pants option below 32 degrees but no, it was a dress period! I attended a private Christian school for 4 years and the girls had to wear a skirt/dress every day, even for gym class. But the volleyball team was allowed to wear gauchos. Oh, how pretty! ;0)

  10. songbea permalink
    January 5, 2009 7:50 pm

    No makeup or piercing my ears until I was 13…no way could I call a boy…no dating…I could go to dances (homecoming, prom and the like on double dates)…but otherwise was not allowed to date…boys could come over and hang out with me at home “and if they really like you they won’t mind” (which I’m sure I’ll use with my own girls in the future)…and boys of course could NOT go in my room, and I could not be alone in the house with a boy…if they came by and Mom wasn’t there I could either not answer the door or talk to them outside…Being grounded was for 6 weeks at a time…from report card to report card…no exceptions…no parole…there was no phone, no tv, no sleep-over, friends over or going anywhere…no dresses without pantyhose, no pants at church except on Sun. nights and ONLY dress pants…no jeans…! And this exception came after there were many many people starting to wear pants on Sun. nights…

  11. Sue permalink
    January 5, 2009 8:34 pm

    Josh and Jana – aren’t these giving you some great ideas for when little ones of your own come along?! 🙂

    P.S. Is “shmancy” really a word?

  12. Sue permalink
    January 5, 2009 8:40 pm

    It sounds like we all grew up in the same household!

    (Somehow a lot of the rules I hated growing up we now have in place in our household. My how things change when you get to be a parent and look back to see why your parents did what they did.) and by the way…….Jenna’s not dating til she’s 30!

  13. Marlene permalink
    January 6, 2009 11:13 am

    My family had many of the same rules already posted regarding girls must wear dresses to church, boys must come in and meet dad, NEVER run inside the house etc..

    The one I remember the most and my parents still can’t explain other than to say “because they said so”.. If a storm was brewing, all of us kids had to line up on the couch and sit there until the thunder and lightning passed. My mom always said it was an acknowledgement of our awareness of God’s great power and might. (Many of our friends would run home as soon as the rain started so they wouldn’t be forced to sit still through the storm.)

  14. Susan permalink
    January 8, 2009 9:01 pm

    One of the rules we had not mentioned above is the “clean plate” rule (in which we often filled our napkins before we left the table) or “no elbows on the table” and you must say “yes/no sir/mam, please, thank you, excuse me, nice to meet you, I’m sorry, and you always called any adult Mr./Mrs.____, never by their first name. I STILL have a hard time NOT doing that. I also had the rules: no calling boys, no boys in the house without parents and definitely never in your room and if we stayed home sick from school we could not go or do anything else that day. Not bad rules, I think. Our kids have most of the same ones now… except the clean plate rule.

Leave a Reply

