Skip to content

Top 10 Posts of 2008

January 6, 2009

It’s hard to believe that the date ends in a “9”.  I won’t start getting that right until about November… and then it will change again.  In honor of ushering in the New Year, I give you the top 10 posts of the last year.

1. The first post ever.  One of the best things that happened in ’08 was getting rid of that goatee, huh?

2. Immediately after we exceeded our Gift For Christ goal this year.  This was the most meaningful post of the whole year for me.

3-6. Ben Lawson, Lance Howerton, Jim Riffe, and Grandpastor Rick getting their moves on.  I need to get the video camera out again…

7. This was one of the most encouraging days of the year for me and currently holds the record for second most hits at the blog with 278 in one day.  Pete Wilson gave me the idea to blog for The Bridge… great idea, Pete!

8. I was still sporting the goatee the first time I checked our blog stats and we’d broken 3,500 hits.  As of today, we’re sitting at 12,735 and counting.

9. The post I put up with the most hesitation and chuckle every time I think about.  I’ve apparently been heavily influenced by my family as this book was stolen the maximum three times in my extended family’s white elephant Christmas this year… more than a Starbucks gift card and a nice set of steel coffee mugs.

10. Last, but not least by a mile, this post came the morning after I felt like God had been speaking to me about an amazing future He had in store for The Bridge.  Just one month later, I can already see Him taking us there…

OK, what did I miss?  What was your favorite post of 2008?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Nathan W. permalink
    January 6, 2009 2:55 pm

    https://bridgesh.wordpress.com/2008/10/09/payback/

    ’nuff said.

  2. josh permalink
    January 6, 2009 2:58 pm

    That was left out on purpose, Nathan.

  3. January 6, 2009 3:03 pm

    Okay, so I’m unashamedly biased. My favorite post was as follows:

    https://bridgesh.wordpress.com/2008/10/01/ladies-and-gentlemen-nathan-wandell/

  4. Sue permalink
    January 6, 2009 7:01 pm

    I’m still favor the blog that included George Clooney’s picture

  5. January 7, 2009 9:03 am

    I must confess that every blog has been inspiring to me. Drawing us together in ongoing community and conversation via the blog has been overwhelmingly positive for me. When I travel and am away from my friends/family at The Bridge I can open up the blog and feel as though I’m hearing from and connecting with my real faith family even when I’m not at The Bridge for weeks at a time. This sometimes gives me the inspiration I need to stay in the game or dodge a temptation. Thanks to you Josh for blogging and thanks to all of you who comment. The more you comment the more you help and encourage those of us who must be away from The Bridge family and weekly Gatherings.

  6. January 7, 2009 11:21 am

    Thanks Rick. That testimony means a lot and encourages all of us to find creative ways to stay connected. This blog has also been a wonderful way for us to connect in small ways even when we can’t be close during the everyday. So thanks to all that comment on the blog as well. Community is sweet, any way you slice it!

  7. Julie Howerton permalink
    January 7, 2009 2:09 pm

    Other than Nathan’s hijacked posting of Josh dancing like a wild man, it would have to be # 10 telling about the vision God had given you for the future of The Bridge. I am excited to see that come to fruition.

  8. josh permalink
    January 7, 2009 4:56 pm

    Sue… of course! I should’ve known.

Trackbacks

  1. Top posts of 2010 «

Leave a Reply

