Skip to content

A disturbing pattern?

January 13, 2009

I’m not going to say a word and let you do the talking here.  Backstory: the extended Howerton family got together in Louisville for a “White Elephant Christmas”.  If you don’t know what “white elephant” means, google it.  If you don’t know what “google” is, I can’t help you.

Assembled were one Civil Rights Lawyer, one University of Louisville Art Professor, two pastors, a Missions Minister, a staff member of a prominent politician in Kentucky, one upper-level business manager, one Biblical Studies major, a gathering of some of the most lady-like, beautiful women you’ve ever met in your life, other dignified persons… and my brother Lee (who also happens to be my closest friend).  Here were the only three gifts that were stolen three times – the maximum amount one gift can be stolen:

Coincidence or Trend?  You tell me.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. January 14, 2009 9:15 am

    I don’t know if I would call it coincidence, maybe a trend, but more of a Howerton’s sick sence of humor. That Poo Log, now along with the companion Poo Book, sits on my work table in my office. The same table I have all my meetings around. Some love it some hate it. I LOVE to see who loves it and who hates it. 🙂 I have a Jr. High streak in me that just won’t end. Even at 52!

  2. josh permalink
    January 14, 2009 10:51 am

    That is hilarious.

  3. January 14, 2009 11:48 am

    Lance, what I want to know (or probably DON’T want to know) is, are those books used merely for display or do they get “used”. No, please, don’t answer.

  4. Sue permalink
    January 14, 2009 12:09 pm

    And I thought my family was dysfunctional………..

  5. Dale permalink
    January 14, 2009 12:14 pm

    Lance, In the picture it look s like your getting ready for an “infomercial”. You may have that second career opportunity.

  6. Scott permalink
    January 14, 2009 5:05 pm

    I think Rick looks WAAAAYYYY too happy about his gift!!

    Julie, I think yours will be stolen from your school desk!!

    Lance, I think you should fill out a few entries in the log and THEN leave it on the table!!

  7. Becky permalink
    January 14, 2009 11:55 pm

    I am quite disturbed by this since we try to keep “potty talk” to a minimum around our house! ;0) But with all these kids it gets carried away quite quickly. Maybe Rick and Lance should come hang out with my kids?!?!? And I agree that Rick looks way too happy. Did he not get anything better this year? Poor guy…

  8. Susan Howerton permalink
    January 15, 2009 1:10 am

    Personally, I think Julie looks quite proud of herself for holding on to that gift through all the trades. I also can’t wait to see where the giant TROLL (my personal favorite) ends up next year!

    I agree with Scott that Lance should make some entries in his Poo Log before putting it on his meeting table. Wait… I think that “came out” wrong.

Trackbacks

  1. blog break and blog dessert « .. josh’s blog ..

Leave a Reply

