Skip to content

House Rules – authenticity

January 18, 2009

GREAT gathering today if you missed it.  Home Run by Grandpastor Rick today, preaching the third week of the House Rules series.  If you’re unfamiliar with The Bridge’s founding pastor, current small group leader, and infamous in-car dancer, see the below video…

It was seriously convicting to sit under Dad’s teaching from Ephesians 4:17-25.  After talking last week about our commitment as a church to ALWAYS breathe grace and to create a culture of forgiveness, this was God-ordained perfect.  Boil everything down that was said today and you get this:

You can’t give or receive grace if you’re not being authentic.  

If I’m putting on my “pastor face” and trying to make everyone think that I wake up each morning with Jesus next to my bed, helping me put on my spiritual cape, I’m not going to be much good for The Kingdom.  People will look at my life and be discouraged – “he never struggles so why do I?” or “Their marriage doesn’t have any problems… something must be seriously wrong with us.”

On the other hand, if you’re reading this and trying to hide your sin, pain, and shortcomings from other believers, you’re keeping yourself from receiving grace – from being ministered to.

The funny thing is that you and I both know what will keep us from being cut off from grace, but we’re scared to do it – confession.  Dad quoted a verse from James today that sums it all up:

Therefore, confess your sins to each other and pray for each other so that you may be healed.

Seriously, if we know it’s what we need, why is it so hard to be open with other Christians about our sin and struggle?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 18, 2009 9:35 pm

    Just a thought. I know a lot of women (and maybe it’s not just women that do this) that feel like they don’t want to “impose” on other people. That is a constant struggle for me, that my needs or my burdens might cause someone else to possibly “break a sweat” for me. In light of thinking about authenticity, sometimes the burden of sin is so heavy, we don’t want to “impose” and ask another to help us shed it. We don’t want them to carry the weight of it. I know this isn’t always the case, and, when you get right down to it, it goes to the root of seeking to be self sufficient instead of seeking the sufficiency of Christ. But, there you go for starters.

  2. josh permalink
    January 18, 2009 11:28 pm

    That was a pretty good confession in itself.

  3. Scott permalink
    January 19, 2009 11:03 am

    We are not unlike children in this! How many times have you and I gone to the aid of our kids when they were hurt and they cried a loud NOOOOOOO!! when we simply wanted to help them? It might be a splinter that needs to be pulled, a skinned knee that needs to be cleansed and dressed, or more serious – a cut that needs to have stitches. All of these elicit the same response – fear.

  4. Jana Howerton permalink
    January 19, 2009 11:47 am

    I so agree with Andrea. This is a huge problem for me. I know how busy everyone is with their own life, and it feels like you’re bothering other people with you’re problems.

    However, lately I’ve seen within my own life a struggle to see what is at the root of a particular sin. I have been struggling for months now with why our condo won’t sell. There have been times where it has been so difficult for me to understand what God is up to that I have sinfully been angry with Him and accused Him of wrong doing. Thankfully, God has reminded me of my total depravity and spiritual bankruptcy apart from Christ. He owes me nothing, and I owe him everything. My response to Him should be the same as the servant in the Luke 17:10 passage- I am an unworthy servant; I have only done what was my duty. God revealed to me that I was desiring earthly treasure (a home in Spring Hill) more than I was desiring Him as my only joy and treasure.
    There is so much I want to say, but I guess I better get to my point: before we can be authentic with others, we must first get real with ourselves. We must first desire to see our sin (no matter how ugly it may look), and repent. God’s kindness is meant to lead us to repentance. There we find His grace, and also the grace to confess to others. It is so freeing to be able to confess your sins to one another, and know healing comes from The LORD.

  5. Marlene permalink
    January 20, 2009 11:35 am

    Many of us are reluctant to share our sins with fellow believers because we don’t want to bother someone else with our “trivial” problems or we fear their reaction or rejection. Ultimately I think it boils down to pride and the fear of being judged for our areas of weakness.
    For me personally, it’s much easier to just put on “the face” and say “I’m good” or “I’m fine” and hope it’s convincing enough that we move onto a different topic of conversation. I’m working on changing this behavior…it’s not going to be easy to change!

  6. songbea permalink
    January 20, 2009 1:39 pm

    I have to work on it too Marlene…the devil is subtle is and is constantly trying to convince me that what I’m dealing with is no big deal…one of the things that helped me realize how important it is to share our weakness was a friend who asked me, “why would you rob me of the blessing of helping you through this?” When I realized that I was keeping someone from receiving a blessing from the Lord…well…it convicted me. It’s not easy to admit weakness…but I’m trying

Leave a Reply

