Skip to content

I have to ask…

February 2, 2009

captphoto_1233050158452-1-0

As I type I’m watching Larry King LIVE, who is focusing on the mother from Southern California that gave birth to octuplets earlier this week.  That’s the link to the news story, but if you haven’t heard about this yet here’s a quick rundown…

  • 33 year old single woman, Nadya Suleman
  • already had six children ranging from 2-7 years old
  • sought in vitro fertilization to have more children
  • after finding she was pregnant with what was originally believed to be 7 babies, she was counseled to abort some of them.  She refused.
  • Nadya had recently lost her job before she sought in vitro fertilization, but has the support of her family

Most of the media is hammering the “irresponsibility” of Nadya for being jobless, single, and seeking out more children after already having six.  On the other hand, God obviously loves babies!

What do you think?  Should Nadya have been allowed to seek in vitro fertilization in her situation even though she already had six kids?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Julie Howerton permalink
    February 3, 2009 1:12 pm

    If I knew Nadya personally I’m sure I would offer to help with the children showing a measure of grace. BUT I don’t know her personally and I’ll admit that it makes me angry that she would have 8 more children in addition to her already existing 6 without a husband and a job. Since I am a Christian and want to exemplify Christ’s love to the world, I don’t think she needs to hear my expression of outrage publicly.

  2. Matthew Svoboda permalink
    February 3, 2009 3:10 pm

    Key fact that you are missing…

    SHE IS LIVING IN HER PARENTS BASEMENT!!!!

    14 Children in her parents basement when she is 33! She should be put in a pychic ward or arrested(slight exaggeration). In all seriousnees she should of absolutely not been aloud to have more babies. God loves babies, but he also loves response, wise parents… not loonies that have to live with mommy and daddy at 33 with 14 kids!!!

    rant over.

  3. Matthew Svoboda permalink
    February 3, 2009 3:13 pm

    Julie,

    You are more godly than I am. I always feel that I need to let people hear my outrage when ridiculous things are going on.

  4. Sue permalink
    February 3, 2009 3:28 pm

    I was mad when I heard this story. She shouldn’t have been allowed to go thru the in vitro process again and the doctor who did the in vitro needs to be under review by the medical board and his license suspended. I do respect her, however, for not going the “selective reduction” route. But the taxpayers of California are going to end up footing the bill for her and her children. God gave us common sense for a reason – USE IT!

  5. josh permalink
    February 3, 2009 4:03 pm

    @Matt Svoboda – you OK over there, buddy?

    @Sue – maybe a Steelers Superbowl victory will help you find grace for her!

  6. jason permalink
    February 3, 2009 4:12 pm

    I agree with Sue. God’s love for kids causes me to both clap and shake my head. I don’t think the office should’ve been able to give her in vitro so I shake my head. But I also know she only wanted one kid, found out she had 8, and refused abortion at great risk to her own life.

    For that, I’m clapping!

  7. February 3, 2009 6:07 pm

    From what I gather from news feeds, these embryos were from previous IVF treatments and they were going to be destroyed if she did not have them implanted in her, or somebody. Yes, she had no job, no husband, and 6 other children to care for, but at what point do you determine that life that is already a created image bearer of God ought not to live? What mother, if given the chance, would prefer the death of her children over her own convenience? Well, maybe I should rephrase that because the truth is, 115,000 women daily are aborting their own children (and that is not including the mothers of these embryo’s). This mother risked so much to save the lives of those embryos, and, because many believe that embryos aren’t human life, then she is receiving harsh criticism. The truth is, these embryo’s don’t deserve death because their mother “can’t handle it”. I do wish there were another option. Maybe if there were families willing to adopt embryos. Maybe she felt like she had no other option because no one offered a hand. I applaud her because of the way she protected the lives of these babies. I assume that she could only afford one treatment. Maybe that is why they implanted her with so many. I’d agree that it appears that the doctor especially handled this situation irresponsibly, but, if you were a doctor, would you prefer to implant all of the embryos or only some, knowing that the rest would be destroyed? This mother needs help. She needs hands at work and hearts in prayer. These children, each and every one, still have a deep need for a Savior, and we should pray for them and for her and be thankful that they were given the gift of life.
    It also gives me pause when thinking of families with fertility problems. Is IVF really the route you want to take? Are you prepared to allow every embryo created to live life?

  8. josh permalink
    February 3, 2009 6:29 pm

    @Andrea – GREAT points, Andrea. You’ve got me thinking…

  9. songbea permalink
    February 4, 2009 2:25 am

    I’ve had several conversations with friends about this…and I have to admit I’m torn somewhere between Matthew and Andrea…but one thing that I’ve been wondering is when did it become bad to have lots of children? People are saying she’s being irresponsible…but did people say that to our grandparents and great-grandparents when they had house’s full of kids (probably little houses and lots of kids)…during the days of the civil war, and the depression which would mean single moms & no jobs in some situations…I know there are some that will say people had lots of kids because there wasn’t any birth control then, but maybe it was because the family was looked upon as more important than it is today–for whatever reason’s people had lots of children & it was the norm–and for whatever reason it’s not the norm today…how many of us wouldn’t be here today if our ancestors decided- “I can’t afford these kids,” “we don’t have room,” “I don’t have a job,” “there’s no way I can do it alone?” They just did it, and hopefully trusted God to provide. I don’t know many women that think– wow, 8 infants with 6 kids at home & no job…that’s for me–but if faced with the same decision, destroy the eggs…or implant them…I would probably make the same decision…

  10. Matthew Svoboda permalink
    February 4, 2009 11:05 am

    songbea,

    Great thoughts and points. I just want to clarify and say that I don’t think she is irresponsible for wanting a lot of children. I personall wouldn’t mind more than most… The difference is that during the great depression it wasn’t chosen single moms getting pregnant with invitro fertilization. Usually, it was widows with kids by there late husbands. Widows with kids vs. a women purposefully not-married, in parents basement, and purposefully being a single mom with 14 children are 2 very, very different concepts.

  11. songbea permalink
    February 4, 2009 11:59 am

    I didn’t mean to say you were saying she was irresponsible…(part of me thinks she’s kinda being irresponsible–but I meant “people” in general–)…and I know you’re right about her choosing this purposefully…but I’m just wondering if faced with the same decision if I wouldn’t react the exact same way…no matter how crazy it seemed to others…I just don’t think I could destroy the embryos if I had knowledge they existed.

Leave a Reply

