Skip to content

pet peeves

February 16, 2009

I’m watching a movie (which may or may not be The Notebook) with my family and need to confess something: eating noises make me want to stick a toothpick under my toenail and kick a wall.  I can’t stand the wet, sticky, smacking of chewed food in someone’s mouth.  

 

me hearing chewing noises

me hearing chewing noises

 

I don’t know why.  This is admitted hypocrisy – I chew just like everyone else!

I’m out there first today.  Get them off your chest – what’s your pet peeve?

36 Comments leave one →
  1. Dale permalink
    February 16, 2009 11:25 pm

    People that get in the left lane and go 10 mph under the speed limit! Slower traffic keep right…Please!

  2. February 16, 2009 11:48 pm

    Sorry if this is any one of you guys, but people who have fake deer in their yards. It’s soooo dangerous when I think about all the deer that might be coming to join their fake friends and hitting cars and killing people. It’s not so much of a big deal if the deer are far from the street, but on these main roads it seems really dangerous to attract deer to traffic like that. My secret fantasy is to drive up to people’s houses’ and take their fake deer. Steal the deer save the world!!!

  3. brian permalink
    February 17, 2009 12:16 am

    my pet peeve is when people gulp really loud when drinking, as i hear the gulp i want to scream!

  4. Mary Bea permalink
    February 17, 2009 12:24 am

    I also am not fond (read loathe) smacking chewing noises…and this sounds so very anti-optimistic, and I fear will be used against me in the future, but whistling, especially inside, and especially when it’s random notes that are not melodic…

  5. February 17, 2009 8:28 am

    People with pet peeves! Just kiddin’!!!

  6. Scott permalink
    February 17, 2009 9:59 am

    People driving in the HOV lane without anyone else in the car… from my rough estimates – about 80% of the cars are not HOV!!

  7. Steve permalink
    February 17, 2009 10:13 am

    I agree with you Scott. I admit I secretly hope the police catch these people and write them a big fat ticket.

  8. josh permalink
    February 17, 2009 11:31 am

    @Rick-yours should be “overly sensitive sons”

  9. February 17, 2009 11:53 am

    so what about if you have kids in your car in the HOV lane? Is that okay? Cuz usually the kids are in the back seat, so you wouldn’t be able to see them.

  10. Dale permalink
    February 17, 2009 12:06 pm

    Andrea…In that case you should be pulled over and taken directly to jail.

  11. Lora permalink
    February 17, 2009 12:09 pm

    People who think they know everything really peeve those of us who really do!

  12. Marlene permalink
    February 17, 2009 12:22 pm

    Mine is…screaming, out-of-control, food throwing kids in a restaurant….while the parents pretend not to notice that those wild, screaming children actually belong to them…

  13. Seth Massa permalink
    February 17, 2009 12:58 pm

    I completely agree with the eating noises–I know we all make them, but you don’t have to be so loud I can hear you across the room (blah!!!). I think that’s because it’s something my little brother does–He also makes a big “AHHH!/UNNNN!” after he takes a drink–Grr… (Sorry for people who hate Onomatopoeia.)

    @ Andrea–do you watch heroes?–If so I totally have to come to this church. Ha.

  14. josh permalink
    February 17, 2009 1:08 pm

    @Lora – that is the most hilarious comment I may have ever seen on this blog.
    @Andrea – you’re safe. Kids in the backseat definitely count as humans in the HOV lane.

  15. Jana Howerton permalink
    February 17, 2009 2:56 pm

    I agree with Josh. Loud chewing noises bother me as well. I hate being in the same room as someone eating a banana.

    Another big pet peeve of mine is when people do not have the courtesy to return their shopping carts to the proper location when they are finished loading their car with groceries.

  16. February 17, 2009 3:06 pm

    @ seth. watched it last night. Glad to hear you’re coming, but not sure where you got the hero’s reference.

  17. February 17, 2009 3:07 pm

    oh, I got it seth, sorry. And Lora, I like your pet peeve. lol.

  18. February 17, 2009 3:08 pm

    Jana, when I was in college, I’d spend some time during the day returning lost shopping carts…. now, I don’t really have so much free time. I know… weird woman.

  19. Becky permalink
    February 17, 2009 3:45 pm

    I so agree with the eating noises ~ my kids know they get one warning at the table for eating with mouths open and then they leave the table without food until the next meal.

    I also agree with the shopping carts, especially when they are left right next to the return area. How is it I can manage with all my kids to return mine, sometimes in the pouring rain??

    I also hate someone riding too close to my bumper especially when the kids are in the car with me. Oh, and cops that speed by me on the interstate for no apparent reason. And people not using turn signals or, even worse, turning them on right as they are turning!!

    Toilet paper and paper towels on the rolls the wrong way…

    Toilet seats left up…

    Bad manners…in Michigan I never got used to the kids at the grocery store replying “Yup” to me when I said thanks. Then my kids started the habit. Had to stop that one fast.

    People sitting on the computer when there are other things that need to be done…like me right now…time to do more school with the kiddos!

  20. February 17, 2009 3:55 pm

    umm… Becky, you’ll have to tell me the right way to put tp on the roll. I honestly never knew there was a way!

  21. josh permalink
    February 17, 2009 4:03 pm

    @Becky – rolling away from you or rolling toward you? I prefer rolling toward me for my toilet paper arrangement.

  22. Nathan Wandell permalink
    February 17, 2009 6:10 pm

    Like a waterfall.

  23. Becky permalink
    February 17, 2009 6:57 pm

    Funny ~ I prefer it going behind probably only because I inherited that from my mom. And it seems a little harder for little ones to find the end and pull and pull and pull that way. And yes, even if someone was kind enough to replenish the roll and it is “backwards” to me, I change it. Just have to. A little OCD I know. There are other things I used to “fix” if not done my way, but now I’m so grateful for help that I have learned to be happy with the way things are. Which means I have to take the time to teach the kids to do things at least neatly…that takes time!

  24. Sue permalink
    February 17, 2009 7:12 pm

    My list is too long.

  25. February 17, 2009 11:50 pm

    Stepping in something wet while wearing socks.

    And Howerton. Just kidding! 😉

  26. February 18, 2009 2:05 am

    People who don’t check the blog till days later and then comment. Ha! Also, people who are not handicapped parking in handicapped spaces.

  27. Scott permalink
    February 18, 2009 12:13 pm

    @Becky – I think its best as CDO (in alphabetical order) 🙂

  28. Sarah permalink
    February 18, 2009 4:06 pm

    When someone is talking to you and has absolutely no concept of personal space. If you’re close enough to lick me, you’re too close. And Burps….ugh, I might as well quit eating now. And did I mention grody man fingernails?

    Okay, I seem to have a lot of issues with hygiene. Therapy? I think so…

  29. Becky permalink
    February 18, 2009 10:35 pm

    Couldn’t agree with you more, Scott!

  30. josh permalink
    February 19, 2009 11:26 am

    @Sarah “grody man finernails”… priceless.

  31. Shi permalink
    February 19, 2009 12:05 pm

    Toilet paper on the wrong way….. Constant loud snoring….. Towels not folded and stacked properly……. People who bite the fork or spoon when they eat…….. Counting to three when you want you kids to come to you or stop something……

  32. tasha permalink
    February 19, 2009 5:57 pm

    people who don’t say “excuse me” when they walk in front of you or bump into you; saying “yep,” instead of “you’re welcome” when someone says “thank you”

    My apologies to those who may do this: the slang “Oh, snap!”

  33. josh permalink
    February 19, 2009 8:24 pm

    @tasha-I’m in total agreement about the phrase “oh, snap”. Thanks for your validation!

  34. shelley permalink
    February 24, 2009 5:22 pm

    sorry I’m late to post.
    no one mentioned blogging during a movie….

  35. josh permalink
    February 24, 2009 8:24 pm

    @shelley – zinger.

Trackbacks

  1. Top posts of 2010 «

Leave a Reply

