Skip to content

nothing less than a movement

February 20, 2009

This is almost like a journal this morning – I hadn’t planned on doing a blog post because I wanted everyone to see the last post, but I changed my mind.

This morning, I can’t get out of my mind a sentence from a journal entry a long time ago…

I despair the thought that I should die and not see God work mightily in my midst.

I realized this morning that I’ve spent my whole life since knowing Christ when I was 8 years old chasing after this one thing – seeing a great movement of God.  I am truly, genuinely desperate to see him move.  I’m not talking about little movements – 100 people accept Christ, a church grows to a couple thousand, etc.  Those things are awesome and I want to see those things, but they’re not a movement and I’ll keep praying and throwing myself at God until I either die or see a true, Biblical proportions, Spirit-empowered movement of God.

I think I’d trade anything in my life besides Jana to see it happen.

I’m excited about what God is doing in The Bridge right now.  It’s obvious that His hand is on what we’re doing (more about that at the meeting Sunday), but my heart longs to see so much more.  The thought that I should live my life and come to the end without having seen a truly great movement of God would seem like a life wasted to me.

Praying for a movement to spark through The Bridge this morning.  Nothing less.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 22, 2009 4:39 pm

    I like this blog you wrote right here. It was really inspiring. My heart is in the same place as you when it comes to have a movement. It’s really something I pray for, for my youth group.

  2. Julie Howerton permalink
    February 23, 2009 2:20 pm

    I can’t say that I feel the same way about feeling that if my life comes to an end and I didn’t see a truly great movement of God that I would feel my life was wasted. It’s not that I don’t want to see God work more vividly but I am keenly aware more so than ever that we often don’t appreciate the hand of God that we DO see. The Bible talks about the rejoicing in heaven over ONE lost soul that comes to know Christ. Every transformed life IS a miracle. Being saved by GRACE and not by our own merit is a miracle. When I look back at the creation of THe Bridge with an unpaid staff for years and its faltering beginnings and how God sustained us through some very difficult times and then God’s leading to our own son Josh as pastor and people being drawn to The Bridge now without a marketing campaign or door to door blitz, I feel I have witnessed a great movement of God. I do desire to see more than can only be supernaturally attributed to God, but if I died tonight I would be satisfied and thankful.

Leave a Reply

