Skip to content

To tweet or not to tweet?

February 26, 2009

twitter_logo_125x29

  There’s a running debate among friends and family of mine about Twitter.  Twitter is a micro-blogging service that allows you to send 100 character updates to the website.  People that choose to “follow” you on Twitter see your updates whenever they log in or can choose to have your updates sent to their cell phone to keep up with you.  Here’s an example of my most recent Twitter update:

Pancakes at Staff Meeting @ 8am. Chocolate chips might be in order…

My Uncle, who shall remain nameless, jokingly says “Why do I care that you’re sitting down for dinner?!” and thinks Twitter is a silly waste of time.  On the other hand, although nothing is a good as face time, it helps me know what’s going on with a lot of friends without expending a lot of time.

Help us settle our dispute.  Why do you or why do you not Twitter?

PS – if you’re on Twitter, I’d love to keep up with you. My username is “howertonjosh”

21 Comments leave one →
  1. Nathan permalink
    February 26, 2009 10:58 am

    Saw this pic from an old friend, @Jigga_G, and thought it might shed some light on the discussion.
    http://twitpic.com/1pb9u

    I love to use twitter, and my username is nwandell. I try not to tweet (update twitter) about boring stuff, and I find it’s a good way to keep up with close friends. I can both send and receive updates on my phone, so while I’m on the go I can still feel connected.
    (End of Twitter Commercial)

  2. Sue permalink
    February 26, 2009 12:50 pm

    I’m with the nameless uncle……..who cares what everyone is doing every single minute of the day……..

    (of course I’m from the day of party lines, no answering machines or voice mail, no cells, no computers, no cable or dish network – only 3 channels and heaven forbid if the president was on! – no texting (still don’t have that!), no twittering…………..aahh… the good ole days of simpler times.)

    And for those of you who twitter and need to know…. I’m now taking the dog for a walk.

    • josh permalink
      February 26, 2009 1:30 pm

      Make sure you tell us when you get back and how many times Mack went potty.

      • Nathan permalink
        February 26, 2009 2:50 pm

        Ok, now that would be too much information, but also a good excuse for me to experience the wonder of threaded comments.

  3. February 26, 2009 12:59 pm

    It’s funny but probably appropriate that Nathan and I commented first on this one. We live a good distance from most of the church members in Spring Hill, and we try to find different ways to stay connected. Twitter and Facebook help us to be able to connect with you guys every day. I think that if we lived among you guys, then we’d use those things much less, but right now, this is a way for us to share our lives with you and for you to share yours with us. I also use this as a way to keep Nathan in on the every day ongoings at our home while he’s away at work. I tweet about funny, exciting, or exasperating things that have happened that day. My stuff might seem boring to some people because my updates are about home life with the kids, but I think it’s exciting and awesome what I get to do! So, look up awandell, and I’d love to share the everyday me and get to know the everyday you.

  4. February 26, 2009 1:01 pm

    Well, Sue you beat me! I guess we were here at the same time!

  5. Sue permalink
    February 26, 2009 3:10 pm

    P.S. Seth calls Steve “urban Amish” and we love the simple, quiet life of very little cell phone use and NO texting or twitter use……

    Josh and Nathan – I am now going to the rec center, then to get Seth at school.

    Andrea – I love hearing your kid stories……

  6. Becky permalink
    February 26, 2009 10:47 pm

    Not too long ago I made a comment that I didn’t care what everyone was doing…and now I’m hooked on Facebook! I agree with Andrea that it is a great way to stay connected with people and do it quickly. Being a stay-at-home mom that also homeschools and so is with kids 24 hours a day, just reading a comment from another adult is sometimes like a breath of fresh air to me. I guess I should learn to stop saying “I’d never…” because that has always backfired on me! So twitter away people!

  7. Becky permalink
    February 26, 2009 10:48 pm

    Oh, I’m getting ready to get the older kids to bed. Emma had one dirty diaper today and a snotty nose but no fever. I cut everyone’s toenails and fingernails last night after baths…isn’t that exciting?

    • josh permalink
      February 26, 2009 10:50 pm

      Becky – it’s exciting because we care.

  8. Mary Bea permalink
    February 26, 2009 10:59 pm

    So I started twittering or is it tweeting…when we were having the gas shortage…cause people would twitter when and where they found gas…which was helpful…I enjoy it because it’s kinda like little conversations with friends during the day but they don’t really take up the time that talking on the phone or sitting on the computer takes…so I can read the text, respond or not, and keep folding clothes, or reading the book or whatever…that being said I turned Josh off (that’s off of my phone for you non-tweeters) cause he “overtweets” or is it “overtwits”…anyhoo, he tweets too much…I still follow Andrea cause I feel like there’s someone out there going through a day kinda like mine…and it’s kinda comforting…I don’t twitter myself too much, but only cause I’m old and I forget I can…and Josh you aren’t the only one I’ve turned off…I’ve had other friends that were overtwitters…I think a few texts during that day is kinda fun, kinda refreshing, too many twitters is not unlike Chinese Water Torture…so…that’s my twitter story…

  9. Mary Bea permalink
    February 26, 2009 10:59 pm

    Oh, and if you wanna follow my twittering or lack thereof…I’m songbea on twitter…

  10. February 27, 2009 12:02 am

    Mary Bea, you crack me up!

    And Becky, I’d love to see you on twitter, but you with the 4 soon to be 5 babies and the homeschooling might just be too busy. BUT, if you’re already on facebook, you can get twitter to update your facebook automatically, and that might make it easier for you.

  11. Dennis permalink
    February 27, 2009 9:18 am

    Isn’t a twitter that litter speaker near the top that puts out the high notes?????

    You go Uncle L.

  12. Sue permalink
    February 27, 2009 10:36 am

    Aaahhh, Dennis…………..someone from my generation who doesn’t “get” it all either!!

  13. josh permalink
    February 27, 2009 12:59 pm

    I just received this message from John Howard:

    “There is nothing about a cell phone, mp3, or computer that aids in any relationship. None of them are relationship tools. They’re isolation tools. You can quote me!”

    Hmm. I see some validity here.

    • Nathan permalink
      February 27, 2009 10:42 pm

      Well, I don’t know if cell phones help relationships, but if I don’t answer my wife’s phone call, it will definitely HURT our relationship.

      • Becky permalink
        February 28, 2009 12:13 am

        John ~ Come spend a week in my life…or possibly any of the other moms that have commented on this like Mary Bea and Andrea, and you might see that your statement is very drastic. There are times when all I have is a minute to two to connect with another adult and it is very important to my sanity to do so. Would I rather hang out with the gals? YES!! Do we all have the time? NO!! So if I have to choose between reading and/or posting a quick update or not having any contact, then I choose the quick “isolating” version.

  14. February 27, 2009 3:30 pm

    I am good with Facebook and am now on twitter. However, what I read almost always means nothing to me. I need to know who is worth following.

  15. josh permalink
    February 27, 2009 3:43 pm

    Welcome to the community, Lance!

  16. Susan Howerton permalink
    February 27, 2009 7:11 pm

    Josh set me up on Twitter this morning and tried to get me in the modern world a little but I don’t think it’s working. Seriously… I don’t think the sign-up thingy worked. I never got my text confirmation and I don’t think I even did it right when I tried to twitter (or tweet). I’ve gotten emails saying certain people are following me on twitter and that scares the begeebees outa me cause I can’t even figure out how to get on it. So, if you’re following me, you better have some bread crumbs with you!! (MissionSusan is my handle… how’s that for a good 70’s term)!

Leave a Reply

