Skip to content

heart check

March 3, 2009

REMINDER: Daylight Savings is this weekend.  Don’t forget to set your clocks forward an hour on Saturday night.

I drove over to The Bridge’s future gathering site on Port Royal Rd this morning to pray and seek God’s blessing on us, dream about what God might do, and take some pictures for Sunday.  Something struck me as I got in my car to leave so I took these two pictures from the exact spot where I was standing…

I feel like these two pictures are the two paths that we could head down as a church at this point – Is this move going to be about a building or is it about people?  What cut me as I walked out to leave was that I’ve been spending most of my time focused on the building when the important thing is across the street: the thousands of families in the massive 3-story apartment complex that will be able to walk to The Bridge in less than 5 minutes.

We’re not moving so we can be more comfortable.  We’re not moving so that we don’t have to set up at 7:00am every week (although those guys will be happy!).  And we’re not moving so we can start 50 new programs and fill up our schedules with church stuff so that we don’t have time to build relationships with lost neighbors and coworkers.  We’re moving so we can reach people.

God gave me a heart check today that I want to extend to you.  It was like He was saying, “Make sure your heart is on the right side of the street.”  This isn’t about a building.  It’s about people. It’s not about building a monument.  It’s about birthing a movement.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 4, 2009 7:30 am

    Could not agree more! Buildings scare me because they can take your focus, time, and attention. If we build it correctly and use it correctly it can help us across the street. We don’t have to have a building to reach people so let’s make sure the building is a tool in our tackle box.

  2. March 4, 2009 9:14 am

    Something that I always remind myself of… There were no church buildings for at least 100 years after the resurrection (most scholars think it was much longer than that). Jesus’ church was the most effective when there were no church buildings. It seems when we have church buildings we create programs to attend rather than attending to the needs of the community both spiritual and physical. I wonder… What would happen if we, the church worldwide, locked the doors of the church buildings except to gather once a week to worship together? I guess we’d be forced to be with those who do not yet know Christ, they’d see Him in us, and masses would choose to follow Him. And I wonder… Would He be more honored by the millions of people who would join us in heaven or would He be more honored if we had a bunch of programs for church members to attend?

  3. Andrea Wandell permalink
    March 4, 2009 10:00 am

    Well, I’m no Lance or Rick (that’s intended as a compliment, promise), but I’m glad you posted this, Josh, for so many reasons! Yes, having a building is an exciting thing, but building a church that brings people to Jesus is way more exciting! I struggle with not owning a home and all the ways I could minister to my family better if we did, but each season God allows us to grow through is giving us tools for the next season. So let’s celebrate when He gives us the new tools but only place our Hope on the Savior.

Leave a Reply

