Skip to content

Woo Hoo!

March 5, 2009

Last October I got on the scale that I’d been avoiding like twangy Country Music (or cats) and realized that there was 36 lbs more Josh than there was 3 years ago.  Honestly, it didn’t bother me that much but 50 year old men were lasting longer on the basketball court than me (who may or may not be named Dennis Knisley).  So my goal was to break the underside of the 160 plane and I took this picture yesterday after 4 months and 17 lbs…

Please ignore my dying right toenail

Please ignore my dying right toenail

Woo Hoo!  Hands down, the hardest part about dieting was giving up late night snacks.  I LOVE the 10pm run to Papa John’s on a Friday night with everything in me.

Make your confession.  What would be the hardest thing to sacrifice if you were on a diet?

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Becky permalink
    March 6, 2009 12:31 am

    Coke and chocolate.

  2. March 6, 2009 12:52 am

    My sweet tea. and Becky’s right. Chocolate’s a given.

  3. Becky permalink
    March 6, 2009 1:06 am

    By the way, congratulations Josh! I think I have found your weight…

  4. Jana Howerton permalink
    March 6, 2009 9:02 am

    Cheese dip from Oscar’s Taco shop!

  5. Marlene permalink
    March 6, 2009 9:54 am

    Chips and Cheese Dip from Pancho’s and John Howard’s Famous Hot Wings

  6. songbea permalink
    March 6, 2009 11:19 am

    kicking the sugar habit…and bread…not a slice of wonder bread…but rolls & loaves of pretty bread you see in the stores…a long baguette of french bread makes my heart flutter a little when I see it…

  7. josh permalink
    March 6, 2009 1:33 pm

    @Songbea – I’d give up oxygen and water before I gave up bread.

  8. Seth Massa permalink
    March 6, 2009 2:51 pm

    The diet/cleanse thing I just got done with is easily the hardest I’ve ever done. You get a shake for breakfast and dinner (and a 600 cal. meal for lunch). You just start missing the enjoyment of chewing your food. You aren’t really hungry, you just want to eat food for the sake of eating food. The shakes I got were all chocolate, so I didn’t have to give up that–but at the same time, I have reached the point where I’m sick of chocolate. (My mom only lost 10 lbs, but she lost 5 inches off her waist with this thing, and my little brother’s girlfriend lost 7 lbs. and 3 waist inches so far.)

    Also, a hard part was giving up caffeine.

  9. Seth Massa permalink
    March 6, 2009 2:52 pm

    PS. Congratulations Josh on losing the pounds.

  10. Susan Howerton permalink
    March 6, 2009 9:54 pm

    Coffee, french fries, doughnuts (especially Donut Palace), cake, chocolate, ice cream, yeast rolls, anything sweet and baked, donuts… did I already say donuts? (but I spelled it differently so it doesn’t count)… I miss both kinds… pasta, cookies… ok, now I’m hungry and tortured.

    By the way, Josh, you were too skinny 36 lbs ago. You are a great size right now. I think that toenail probably weighs in at 7 lbs. too, so just think… you’re soon to be down 24 lbs!! I could help you with that if you want! NOT… YUK!!

  11. Serena permalink
    March 7, 2009 3:37 pm

    Having had gestational diabetes while I was pregnant and being so limited on what I could eat, I can quickly answer this question – Dr. Peppers, Mello Yellos and chocolate. Several people have brought by desserts with the dinners they made and let me just tell you how much I have enjoyed the desserts!! I’m giving myself a little bit of a break from watching what I eat for a while. I know I’m burning more calories taking care of a little one anyway!!

    P.S. Thanks to all of you Bridge members who have brought by food. It has been so wonderful not to worry about cooking dinner. By the time we get the baby fed, we sometimes forget that we should be eating decently as well! Love you all.

  12. March 9, 2009 8:39 pm

    Josh, caught your site through Petes. Very nice.

    I have to ask…How did you lose the weight?

    Something I am working on right now…I am about 40 over what I need to be. Toughest thing for me to give up is Iced Mochas from Starbucks…love them!

    Congratulations…it is inspiring.

  13. josh permalink
    March 9, 2009 9:20 pm

    @Joseph – Thanks for the congrats! I promise, I’m not the inspiration. There are a few ladies at The Bridge that have lost 90 lbs or more this year… crazy.

    The turning point for me was setting a reminder in my phone to go off before each meal that simply said “lose weight”. I’ve wanted to drop 15 lbs for years, but in the midst of a busy schedule would just forget. Just being reminded as I sat down to eat was huge for me.

    Second biggest help was finding a way to exercise that I didn’t mind. I love listening to sermons so running on a treadmill for a sermon (30 min) distracted me from the fact that I was actually doing work.

    Good luck, Joseph!

Trackbacks

  1. blog break and blog dessert « .. josh’s blog ..

Leave a Reply

