Skip to content

first job?

March 9, 2009

I got an email from Sean Goodwin (good friend, small group member, and finance extraordinaire) today that simply said “In Dallas airport.  Thinking of you…”  This picture was attached:

pic-0021

Sean knows just how cool I am.  My first job was “Pretzel Boy” at Auntie Anne’s (chick magnet) in the mall making $6.25 an hour.  It was a BIG deal when I could roll and dip pretzels fast enough to get four trays in the oven at the same time, and my all-time claim to fame is that I sold Faith Hill a pretzel while working at an Auntie Anne’s in Nashville.  (Faith ordered a Cinnamon Sugar with no butter.)

Let’s get to know each other today.  What was your first job and how much did you make?

16 Comments leave one →
  1. songbea permalink
    March 9, 2009 11:52 pm

    High school, wrapping packages at Christmas for a local clothes shop…we (my friend and I) were taught how to wrap i.e. “the correct way to wrap a package,” and were only allowed to use 3 1.5 inch pieces of tape to wrap each package…minimal waste and all…I think we both were told this wasn’t the arena for us before Christmas break was over…can’t remember the pay…not much, like 10 bucks a day for 3 or 4 hours of work…

  2. Marlene permalink
    March 10, 2009 8:52 am

    My first job was at McDonald’s..I was 16 yrs old..got up at 4:30am every Saturday & Sunday morning..worked from 5am to 2pm..paid $3.85/hr..I got 2 free meals each shift…woohoo!

  3. Dale permalink
    March 10, 2009 10:32 am

    My first job was at Poplar House Restaurant, I was 14 years old and the owner decided since I was so young that he only had to pay me $1.25/hr. My career there was short, I moved up to hauling hay.

  4. Nathan permalink
    March 10, 2009 10:48 am

    I was a car hop at Sonic drive in, minus the skates as I constantly kept falling in them! Pay was 4.15/hour plus tips. For a 15 year old girl, this was the best job in town. We called it the best kept secret in Fairview. Yes, that “other town” in Williamson county. And Rascall Flats came often. I didn’t really know who they were at the time or that they were going to be as popular as they are now.

  5. March 10, 2009 12:30 pm

    ha ha ha! Nathan, really? You were a carhop!? Okay, so that was me. So, I didn’t sign Nathan out. Sorry. I can promise you that Nathan would never pursue a career as a Sonic carhop. It’s definitely not his style!

  6. josh permalink
    March 10, 2009 12:52 pm

    @Andrea – I was wondering why Nathan was bragging he had the “best job in town for a 15 year old girl.”

  7. Lora permalink
    March 10, 2009 1:30 pm

    Well, besides working on the farm which we were paid in “room and board” HAHA, to get away from that I took a job at Bonanza in Franklin.

    I don’t remember exactly what it paid, but you did get half price meals..well everyone but me. Mine were usually free! My supervisor would put me on “order taking” and told me that for every 5 Porter house steaks I sold, I got a free meal. Was that a mistake on his part! Friday and Saturday I sold out of Porter Houses and had a couple months of free meals!

    Then next weekend, he raised the bar. I still sold out of Porter House steaks, but it was a wee bit harder to get that free meal. Needless to say I think they still owe me a steak or two…LOL!

  8. Jana Howerton permalink
    March 10, 2009 2:11 pm

    I was a Lifeguard at our country club. I enjoyed it because I love being outside. I think I made around $5.50 when I started.

  9. josh permalink
    March 10, 2009 2:36 pm

    @Lora – I’ll help you take care of those steaks if you ever need help.

  10. Sue permalink
    March 10, 2009 2:58 pm

    I started my first paying job the summer after my junior year in high school and worked thru my senior year as a [non-roller skate wearing] carhop/waitress at a small diner owned by two families from our church. (They were known for their homemade pies – strawberry cream was my favorite!) I made a pittance of an hourly wage plus tips but I made enough to save to go to CA and CO after my senior year!

  11. Becky permalink
    March 10, 2009 2:59 pm

    I started working at Rax (that’s roast beef in case you aren’t familiar with it) when I was 16 and worked there for 3 years. That’s a long time to smell like grease! Don’t remember how much I made…whatever minimum wage was at the time. I actually didn’t hate the job too badly and worked my way up to being the weekend cook which meant I got to go early and open up the place and get off early. Great for date nights!

  12. Ken permalink
    March 11, 2009 10:44 pm

    My first job was as milkhand on the family farm, I was around 13 years old. The pay: If I worked hard I didn’t get whipped. Of course the threat of violence against my person was offset by the fact that I didn’t have a choice about working there or not. Ahh, the family business…

  13. josh permalink
    March 11, 2009 11:12 pm

    “If I worked hard I didn’t get whipped.”

    Best blog comment in a month, Ken.

  14. Lora permalink
    March 12, 2009 10:30 pm

    @Becky…Rax had THE BEST salad bar. Small but great!! I miss that place.

  15. shelley permalink
    March 12, 2009 11:03 pm

    @Jana–so, you lived the HSM2 life?? wow!

    I remember working in our church office and at church camp from the time I was about 12. Around $2/hr runs in my mind. Then when I was old enough to work (!), worked in our church’s daycare after school in high school, and then at a gift shop one summer. If I had saved even a penny of what I made back then…..sigh…..

  16. March 13, 2009 11:46 pm

    My first job was when I was 13 years old and I changed the marquee sign weekly at a real estate agency for $10 a week.

Leave a Reply

