Skip to content

prayer.

March 17, 2009

One of the coolest in-theater movie experiences I’ve ever had was seeing Twister when there actually was a tornado in the city I lived in.  Whenever I was a kid pictures of tornado damage like these absolutely fascinated me…

For the last two weeks God has been teaching me to pray and these images keep popping into my head.  By themselves pieces of straw and vinyl records (what are those!?) are weak and flimsy, but when the force of a tornado grabs hold of them they get driven through telephone poles.  Often we spend SO MUCH time and energy trying to do something for God’s kingdom.  We want to…

  • Raise godly kids
  • Have a God-honoring marriage
  • Lead someone to faith in Christ
  • Be financially wise and giving
  • Fix a strained friendship
  • Relocate The Bridge to a new property

What God has been speaking HEAVILY to me is that all my efforts are weak and feeble by themselves, but when I seek God’s presence and blessing on them in prayer… well, they become strong enough to penetrate the hardest situation or heart.  In the face of a huge time for The Bridge as we relocate to Port Royal Rd, last week God spoke to me to tell me “The most important part of the work of The Bridge relocating will get done on your knees.”  Are there obstacles we have to overcome?  Yes.  Does it sometimes feel improbable?  Yes.  Are we going to see God hear our prayer and move on our behalf?  Definitely.

Encourage the rest of us – what’s the clearest answer to prayer you’ve ever seen in your life?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 18, 2009 9:05 am

    Not much to say but powerful post and powerful pictures. Thanks for sharing this, Josh.

  2. Mary Bea permalink
    March 18, 2009 10:18 am

    Back in 2001 we were trying to move home, Ken was already working there on a 2 weeks on 2 weeks off shift. I would drive down with the kids every other time he left and we would drive back together…we did this for about 7 months…we struggled finding a place to live, deciding what to do about school for JR, and while I probably wasn’t praying as earnestly as I should have been, I did get a very clear answer one day to not move back home. It was a hard thing to hear at the time…but it was very clear…not too long after that, we sold our house, found this house out here, God answered the long time prayer of finding great neighbors, and then God introduced us to our Bridge family…so this was clearly a case of not hearing the answer to prayer that I wanted to hear…but we were blessed beyond belief by being obedient…

Leave a Reply

