Skip to content

Prayer – pt. 2

April 5, 2009

Yesterday was the best day I’ve had at The Bridge since getting here.  Here’s a rundown of stuff that’s happened at The Bridge recently…

  • About 25 people have moved into small groups recently
  • We’ve approached 50 kids in our Kids’ Ministry on multiple occasions
  • Over 20 people have joined The Bridge
  • 5 people are cocked, locked, and ready to be baptized
  • At least one person has given their life to Christ
  • We’ve grown from around 85 to topping 140 this week
  • We’re in the middle of relocating to the most densely populated square mile in Spring Hill 

All of that is incredible, but none of it is what overwhelmed me yesterday.  Quick confession: Until recently I’ve never prayed very much and often felt lost when I tried.  So recently, I’ve been devoting myself to prayer for my wife, my marriage, and The Bridge and seeing eerie, God stuff happen.  There’s a specific phrase I’ve been praying over these things…

“God, put your hand on _insert object of prayer here_

So then yesterday after the membership class, I’m talking to a guy that God is seriously taking hold of and he’s telling me about what God started doing in him last week.  Here’s what he said…

“It just felt like… um… well, it felt like… God just…He put his hand on me.”

I almost lost it.  Like I said, I’m just now learning to really pray (hint: praying out loud is the only way to keep focused).  But when this guy that God is obviously speaking to right now said that, it hit me that God seriously, no-joke, really is listening… which is crazy.

In the words of EM Bounds, “air is not more important to the lungs than prayer to the Christian.”

6 Comments leave one →
  1. shelley permalink
    April 5, 2009 10:56 pm

    so incredibly cool. thank you for sharing how specifically God is answering & revealing Himself. I needed to hear that.

  2. Eva Howard permalink
    April 6, 2009 12:25 am

    John and I both have witnessed GOD answering the prayers of the many prayer warriors of our church just this past week. Josh, you were the first person to come to the hospital and pray with us before they could even get John admitted into a room from the ER. GOD is not only listening, HE is answering.

    The word tells us in Matt. 21:22, “If we believe, we will receive whatever we ask for in prayer.” We asked and we received. To GOD be the glory.

  3. April 6, 2009 8:32 pm

    Seeing God doing so much at The Bridge is answered prayer in and of itself. Thanks Josh, for guiding to where the real power in a church is found, in Christ alone.

  4. Marianne Shoopman permalink
    April 6, 2009 10:41 pm

    Josh, thanks for your vulnerability in admitting your difficulty praying sometimes. I often struggle with the “am I really connecting and saying the right thing” feeling. I will try your suggestion to pray out loud and asking God to put his hand on a specific subject.

  5. John-Michael LaRue permalink
    April 8, 2009 12:18 pm

    good stuff josh! thanks for the encouragement with the post. i’ve used that quote by bound in 2-3 of my conversations since our starbucks meeting.

  6. josh permalink
    April 8, 2009 1:15 pm

    @John-Michael Great book. Thanks for your suggestion; I’ve already picked up the book you were reading!

Leave a Reply

