Skip to content

Diagrams from yesterday’s sermon

April 26, 2009

Again, “Christian” is used to describe Egalitarianism and the hierarchical system because those two marriage patterns are perversions of the Biblical teaching that are or have been prevalent in our society.  Complementarianism is the Biblical pattern for marriage.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. shelley permalink
    April 28, 2009 8:50 am

    I have never heard that passage of scripture unpacked quite like that before, and am looking forward to “the rest of the story” next Sunday.

    Loved the diagrams too, but help me understand where God is in the first 3. I know the first was “non-Christian”, so God would be distant, but what about the next two?

    I came away from that message thinking that relationship should also be reflected in our childrens’ lives to an extent as well: the oldest son, as a Christ-follower, having somewhat of a responsibility for spiritual leadership among his sibs, and the other siblings “coming under” his authority — not contingent on his spiritual leadership, but because of their place in the family. Thoughts?

    Good stuff.

  2. josh permalink
    April 28, 2009 10:08 am

    Shelley – I’m always wary when I teach something no one’s ever heard before. My goal in my ministry is never to teach something new. If I ever do that, I’ll rubber stamp myself a failure because I brought Josh’s word instead of God’s… and you should have little to no interest in my word.

    As far as your last thought…

    There isn’t a Biblical command for younger siblings to submit to the leadership of their older siblings; however, wisdom dictates that if the older siblings are spiritually mature and humble that listening to them should be desirable. Those are my thoughts…

Leave a Reply

