Skip to content

i love my church

April 26, 2009

I’m finishing my day today so amazingly proud to be a part of The Bridge.  Today was the end of our food drive for The Well, a ministry that provides food to families who are financially unable to provide for themselves.  The Bridge donated three pickup truck-loads full of food (more than 3x more than we’ve ever donated before), but that wasn’t what made me proud.

I sat next to a 4 year old with an amazing story this morning.  Every time that his parents offered him candy this year he had the option to either A) eat the candy for himself, or B) put it in a jar to give to The Well.  Today that jar was full and that 4 year old happily gave it to people in need.

A 4 year old preached to me more than I did to him today.

Just for the sake of more bragging, here’s a bunch of other reasons I’m so proud of The Bridge…

– 91 people gave $15,000 to the Gift for Christ offering this year

– Three pickup truck-loads of food given to The Well today.  3x more than The Bridge has ever given before.

– More than 20 people joined The Bridge last month

– Over 30 people have moved to small groups

– Worship gatherings have grown by about 40% in the last 8 months

– We’re about 8 weeks away from a relocation and the church is honestly more excited about the people we’ll be able to minister to than the building

When I step back and look at it all, it blows me away every time.

________

UPDATE: per email requests, the diagrams used in yesterday’s sermon have been posted below.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Lewis permalink
    April 27, 2009 9:27 am

    Josh,
    I just want to say that I love getting the updates from your blog and I am so encouraged by what God is doing through you and with you at The Bridge. May His grace continue to shine upon you.

    Lewis

    P.S. Coming to any bengals games this fall???

  2. josh permalink
    April 27, 2009 11:28 am

    Thanks, Lewis. That means more than you know. After this weekend’s draft, my desire to hit up a Bengals game has exponentially increased.

    • Steve permalink
      April 28, 2009 9:51 am

      Maybe we can get tickets and go together to see the Bengals vs. Steelers!

      • josh permalink
        April 28, 2009 9:54 am

        This is our year, Steve. Bring em’ on!

  3. Susan Howerton permalink
    April 29, 2009 9:42 pm

    I LOVE MY CHURCH AND I LOVE THEIR GIVING HEARTS! THEY DO EVERY BIT OF IT FOR THEIR LOVE OF JESUS AND THEIR LOVE OF THE LOST. IT IS EVIDENT AND I PRAY IT ALWAYS WILL BE!

Leave a Reply

