Skip to content

what do you think?

May 4, 2009

Incredible weekend for The Bridge.  Over 100 Bridgers were out serving Spring Hill on Saturday for One Great Day, we broke our in-gathering attendance record on Sunday, and baptized three people Sunday afternoon.   More on all the great stuff that’s going on right now later this week.

Right now I need your help settling a longstanding, in-family dispute about the restaurant “Tossed”.

 

tossed-cool-springs-blvd

Our debate surrounds this question: “Is Tossed girl-food?”  I point to the fact that it’s a SALAD restaurant and that the tagline is “the FASHION of salads” while nameless others who disagree with me point to men in the restaurant and say otherwise.

This has gone on long enough.  What do you think – is “Tossed” girl-food or not?

25 Comments leave one →
  1. songbea permalink
    May 4, 2009 7:29 pm

    I haven’t been & I’ve wanted to go but when I said something to Ken about it he had never even heard of it…and I would say the men inside are only there because a girl made them go–these are men who are dating and still trying to impress the girl–a married man would fight it…it seems like a girl place to me…like for a shopping lunch or something…

  2. tasha permalink
    May 4, 2009 10:54 pm

    Hmmm, I’m going to go out on a limb and say that it’s food, just food. We’ve eaten there a few times, and I mean Theo AND I, and we enjoyed it. He wasn’t forced either as he is definitely over trying to impress me, ha! Although, we didn’t eat IN the place; we took our salads to go. I guess it depends on whether you think salads are for girly-men. 🙂

  3. Greg permalink
    May 5, 2009 5:11 am

    Josh – I’m glad your secure in your masculinity. Tell Lance and Rick that their just jealous of your manliness.

  4. May 5, 2009 7:35 am

    When he says “in-family” I guess he means Rick, Julie, Jana and he. So let me weigh in. Girl food yes. However, I love it and like to eat there. I am a salad guy!

    • Dennis permalink
      May 5, 2009 8:01 am

      This question come from a guy who has obviously seen “the Notebook” more than once. Can you ask this question?????
      Tossed Girl-food – NOT.

  5. May 5, 2009 9:26 am

    I’ve never been, but my dad likes to eat there. Don’t know if that helps or not.

  6. Beth permalink
    May 5, 2009 9:46 am

    Josh, don’t you remember the Seinfeld episode where Jerry is dating Elaine’s cousin that is the meat eater and Jerry orders a salad? She made him mutton?!?!?! Tossed is NOT just girl food. Come on guys, you know you all love a good salad.

  7. Jason permalink
    May 5, 2009 9:50 am

    Salad is girl food. Men eat meat. God said “kill and eat” not “shred iceberg and imitate the rabbit”.

  8. josh permalink
    May 5, 2009 10:07 am

    @Jason – Amen and amen!

    @Beth – that is one of my favorite all-time episodes.

    @Sam – not fair, now you’re making this personal.

  9. John Michael permalink
    May 5, 2009 10:17 am

    Just because men eat there doesn’t mean their target audience is not primarily women.

    I’m pretty sure the tagline “the Fashion of Salads” is a dead give away that they are primarily promoting their food to women (and maybe metrosexual males…?)

    I certainly could go eat there one time a month and enjoy it… but of course I’d still probably much rather be at a steakhouse.

  10. Laura permalink
    May 5, 2009 10:44 am

    I have never heard of this place before, but I would have to say girl food. Most guys I know would eat a salad, but only while they are waiting for the steak.

  11. Dale permalink
    May 5, 2009 11:07 am

    Kill it and grill it!

  12. ken permalink
    May 5, 2009 11:52 am

    How about….yes

  13. May 5, 2009 12:10 pm

    Maybe you should define “man.” Are you including men who are metrosexual, men who are dieting, men who wear Kentucky blue following another loss in Rupp Arena or men who adorn themselves Tennessee orange any time?

  14. Ben Lawson permalink
    May 5, 2009 12:10 pm

    Well Josh I am going to have to agree with Dennis. Several weeks ago you pretty much needed to give up your man card, because of several overly feminine comments. None the less tossed is chic food. I mean when was the last time your talked to a real man an heard him say “I am craving a salad.”?

  15. josh permalink
    May 5, 2009 12:51 pm

    @The Navigator – any male wearing Kentucky blue is a real man.
    @Ben – two words: Jump. Serve.

  16. Steve permalink
    May 5, 2009 1:09 pm

    Girls food. I also heard it was expensive and I am cheap. As someone else said the only way to eat salad is as a prerequisite to a nice, thick steak and mashed potatoes!

  17. Steve permalink
    May 5, 2009 1:10 pm

    By the way I am now leaving to have a burger and fries for lunch! lol.

  18. Art permalink
    May 5, 2009 3:31 pm

    I eat salads, but I have never watched “The Notebook”. Don’t go out to eat much, but probably wouldn’t go to a placed named “Tossed”. Both my wife and I have seen this place and we both agreed that we probably don’t want to got there to eat. Mainly because we don’t think a restaurant based on salad is a place we would like to eat.

  19. Sue permalink
    May 5, 2009 8:12 pm

    If the guys listened to Sunday’s sermon they would put their wife’s best interests ahead of theirs and go to Tossed.

  20. josh permalink
    May 5, 2009 8:47 pm

    @Sue – in fairness, this post says nothing about whether we’ll go or not!… and you’re right.

  21. May 6, 2009 12:34 am

    Went there once, and ONLY once. I love salad but not theirs… sorry Tossed lovers. Too expensive for salad and just not real good. These thoughts coming from someone who LOVES Jack-in-the-Box salads so take it for what it’s worth.

    Susan

  22. Marianne Shoopman permalink
    May 6, 2009 12:01 pm

    Well, Josh certainly stirred the pot on this one. Lots of passion out there it seems about the salad vs meat debate. All in all, I’d say more women like salads then men do but a man who loves his woman will love a good salad! Josh?

  23. josh permalink
    May 6, 2009 12:11 pm

    Definitely agree!

  24. shelley permalink
    May 7, 2009 11:45 am

    was always curious about this place, so i stopped by after your post while we were in town this week. predominantly a female crowd, although a couple of suits came in as I was leaving. it hurt to go without a coupon — ouch! so it’s really a deli — is there anything inherently manly or feminine about a deli??

    btw, was glad I didn’t take my kids in — we wouldda been a spectacle among that crowd!! our next stop was Chick-fil-A to get their lunch!! (so, how about places with “chick” right in the name???)

Leave a Reply

