Skip to content

Pursuit (part 5): Scripture meditation

May 12, 2009

his is the 4th post in a series of posts about spending personal time with God.  Other posts may be viewed herePart 1Part 2Part 3, Part 4                                                                 ___________

Monday started off as a pretty rough morning for me.  Sometimes when I’m emotionally and spiritually “off”, I don’t need to learn something new.  I need to immerse my heart in something already-learned.  This is called meditation and here’s one way to do this that I’ve found especially helpful…

Step 1 – Sit down with a Bible, a pen, and a something to write on.

Step 2 – Pick a portion of Scripture and read it 20-50 times back-to-back.

Step 3 – Write down any and every observation you can make about the passage.

After a long day of just feeling “off”, I took an hour on Monday night to soak my heart in the passage I’m preaching this Sunday, 1 John 1:1-4.  Four full pages of observations came from my hour focusing on those four verses… but even more importantly, I sat down angry and got up joyful.

At the great risk of ruining something eternally important with a cheesy analogy, meditating on Scripture is a lot like making a raisin out of a grape.  It takes prolonged immersion in the light for the change to happen.  When simply reading a chapter or reciting a memorized verse isn’t bringing about heart-change, you need to immerse your heart in the light of Scripture.

If you’ve never followed the example of David and meditated on God’s Word, try it and I think you’ll find a whole new way of letting God speak to you through His word.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. shelley permalink
    May 13, 2009 9:45 am

    wow–20-50x back to back — I’ve honestly never read a passage more than a couple of times thru, but I do believe that God could speak deeply into my soul if I gave Him the chance by meditating like that. i will try it….

  2. Eva Howard permalink
    May 13, 2009 10:47 am

    WOW – Josh you are already preaching to me and it’s not even Sunday yet. Hang on while I take up the offering.

  3. josh permalink
    May 13, 2009 4:42 pm

    Eva – your son is one of our “ushers”. I’m sure he wouldn’t mind you giving him an offering to “deliver”.

  4. May 18, 2009 11:41 pm

    I think it’s more like making a grape from a raisin. It brings back the juices and makes a heart that is dry like new again. But what do I know.

    MC

  5. Lynae Bailey permalink
    May 22, 2009 4:48 pm

    That’s cool! Like Shelley, I definitely have not read a scripture nearly that many times in a row. I like what MC said too..”like making a grape from a raisin” I’ve been pretty “raisiny” lately!!

Trackbacks

  1. Top posts of 2010 «

Leave a Reply

