Skip to content

man-card suspension?

May 13, 2009

Tomorrow (Friday) morning at 6:30am a group of guys from The Bridge are getting together at Cracker Barrel to talk about spiritual leadership as husbands.  I’m nervous about this meeting because I was recently accused by one of our elders, Dennis Knisley (pictured below), of needing to have my man-card suspended.

beach-stud-2

This was based on the following two facts…

  • In my last sermon I read an article from girl.com (an admittedly girly thing to do)
  • Two weeks ago I referenced the infamous chick-flick “The Notebook”

I’ll concede the girl.com article – hard to argue against its girliness.  But is watching a chick-flick legitimate grounds for man-card suspension?

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Greg permalink
    May 14, 2009 4:45 am

    Josh, I’ve known you since we were 7, and I didn’t realize you had ever qualified for a man-card.

  2. May 14, 2009 7:20 am

    I’m looking at the picture if Dennis and trying to figure out why the finger on the right hand is pointed out? Is this a throw back to Saturday Night Fever? Tight white pants and some shaking going on. Man Card?

  3. Ken permalink
    May 14, 2009 7:31 am

    Watching, no…. I’m sure mistakes are made everyday. I went to see Highlander because I thought it was a western. Good movie, but not what I was expecting. However, making reference to the poignant symbolism in a chick flick might be crossing the line…. a bit…… and I thought you said you had seen it multiple times which falls under the “fool me once…” rule.

  4. Greg permalink
    May 14, 2009 7:49 am

    I don’t know if he still claims (admits) to this, but I remember that when The Notebook came out it was Josh’s favorite movie all-time.

  5. May 14, 2009 8:51 am

    When anyone over 40 asks for your man card, take them on in a game of one on one basketball (only if you’re 100% sure you can beat them). Also… no trash talk until after you’ve won the game!

  6. Beth permalink
    May 14, 2009 9:39 am

    Okay, in defense of my husband, who is currently flying in from the west coast. Lance, he is re-enacting the volleyball scene from the very masculine movie, Top Gun. He is pointing the way to the beach. And Rick, if you’ve ever played basketball with Dennis, even though he is a little “fluffy” around the middle these days, he is quite athletic and would probably give our dear pastor a run for his money. Now Josh, I appreciate you showing your femine side, occasionally. You have a true gift for teaching and an ability to relate to us all. My advice.., everything in moderation.

  7. josh permalink
    May 14, 2009 10:13 am

    @Greg – I will not tolerate purposeful deceitfulness! I have never wavered from my affinity for Braveheart (much more masculine).

    @Beth – I agree. I don’t know if I’d want to tussle with Dennis in a game of 1-on-1 with high stakes.

  8. Dale permalink
    May 14, 2009 11:08 am

    You know Dennis was around when man-cards were scribed in stone, so he knows the regulations.

  9. John Michael permalink
    May 14, 2009 12:32 pm

    Did you watch the notebook alone, with other ‘guys’, or your wife?

    If it was with other ‘guys’ – immediate man-card suspension for all involved

    If it was alone – further investigation as to the context is needed

    If it was with your wife – and it made her happy – you’re all good!

  10. Mary Bea permalink
    May 14, 2009 12:54 pm

    If Josh has his man-card pulled…how does he get it back? Will he have to start belching loudly in public and referencing Steven Segal movies in his sermons? (those are just loaded with symbolism right?) And does the same hold true for women? Can I lose my woman-card by watching too much ESPN or using the grill more than my husband (oops, sorry Ken, will that cause a card suspension?) These are just things that make me go hmmm

  11. josh permalink
    May 14, 2009 1:39 pm

    @John Michael – Definitely with my wife.

  12. Greg permalink
    May 14, 2009 3:08 pm

    @Josh – I thought you had your own copy at the end of college that you used to watch when you were all alone so you could cry yourself to sleep in privacy.

  13. John Michael permalink
    May 14, 2009 3:26 pm

    @Mary Bea

    I personally think you get your women-card upgraded if you watch excessive amounts of espn…

Leave a Reply

