Skip to content

[unnecessarily big word] preaching

May 17, 2009

My heart is still full from a great worship gathering this morning.  A Jewish girl was visiting one of our members and came today to hear a sermon almost entirely about the identity of Jesus.  She was a very smart girl who understood the implications of answering the question “Who was Jesus?”  At one point in the conversation she said, “people fight wars over the answers to these questions where I come from.”

The way we’re preaching verse-by-verse through 1 John right now is called (in unnecessarily big theological terms) “exegetical preaching”.  It’s different than preaching on a topic like war or homosexuality or The Cross because we go straight through a book of The Bible.  Besides being my favorite way to preach, there are a bunch of reasons why I believe exegetical preaching is especially good for our church…

  • It focuses a church on the Bible more than any other type of preaching.
  • It will force me to preach things I would probably never choose if I was just picking what I though was important.
  • It helps teach people how to study the Bible for themselves
  • Because all Scripture is God-breathed for our benefit, we should examine all of it.  Not just the “power verses” that preach the best.
  • It helps to show the importance of context in Scripture.  You know what they say, “Context is…”
  • It helps people read and study along with the sermon each week.

The two things you could do to get the most out of our time in 1 John are…

  1. Learn how to study the Bible yourself as the sermons will be more in-depth study themselves than usual.
  2. Come on Sunday having read and studied the passage that will be preached.
One Comment leave one →
  1. Kathy H. permalink
    May 18, 2009 5:44 pm

    Hey Josh – I just wanted to say that I’ve longed for this type of preaching and going deeper than just what the verse says. When I do that on my own it doesn’t feel as effective. I really enjoy being able to read scripture ahead of time and being a little more prepared for your message on Sunday. It forces me to read straight from the bible and not just a devotional to get my bible study in. Thanks for all you do!

Leave a Reply

