Skip to content

one more thought about 1 Jn 2:1-6…

May 24, 2009

Incredible day today with The Bridge.  Heads-up, I’m bragging on some of you tomorrow.  Before that, one more thought on today’s Scripture…

The greatest news my heart has accepted this year so far is understanding (from 1 Jn 2:1-6) that Jesus is my Advocate before God when I sin.  It doesn’t say he’s my advocate once I confess my sin, once I ask God for forgiveness, or once I’ve felt bad for as long as God wants me to.  It says when I sin, Jesus stands before God as my Advocate.

Let that sink into your heart and it will change you – melt you.  Here’s why this has been so good for my soul:

Stuff I usually do after I sin…

  • Ask God to forgive me multiple times for the next couple of hours as if the first time didn’t work
  • Feel nothing. I’m so used to sinning that my heart has been perverted to feel OK with it.
  • Make a promise to God.  I once covenanted with God to fast for a week after sinning in college.
  • Wonder of it’s OK for me to experience happiness.
  • Make sure no one finds out.  
  • If someone does find out, make sure that they know there was a really good reason for what I did. (“Well, of course I’m not helping them!  Listen to what they did to ME…”)
  • Avoid God. Don’t pray, don’t read Scripture, and don’t talk to people that are involved in my life spiritually.
  • Try and “pay it off” – go read a bunch of Scripture to “make it up to God”.

Sometimes I find a way to ignore it, but notice that everything else I usually do after I sin is an attempt to be my own advocate before God.  Realizing that Jesus is my advocate when I sin is totally changing the way that I relate to God right now.  Totally.

What does this idea do for you?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lynetta permalink
    May 26, 2009 7:20 pm

    I didn’t get to tell you how much I needed this week’s sermon, Josh, but it really blessed me. It’s really cool how open you are while teaching and blogging…it helps me be more real, too. Coincidentally (or perhaps providentially), I’ve been reading Crazy Love by Francis Chan. I love it when God is trying to teach me something–I get it in all aspects of life!

  2. josh permalink
    May 26, 2009 10:23 pm

    GREAT book, Lynetta. Hope it’s as challenging to you as it was to me.

Leave a Reply

