Skip to content

feeding vs. eating

May 26, 2009

Someone asked me today what has me most excited about The Bridge’s future.  It’s not that we’ve grown almost 65% this year, that we’ve added almost 40 people to our small groups, that we’ve hired 3 HOME RUN staff members, or even that we’ve given so sacrificially this year (that’s a close 2nd).  It’s that a new generation of Christ-followers are maturing into feeding roles in The Bridge right now.

In every person’s life, there are three stages of eating…

Being fed – when someone is a baby they have to be fed by someone else for a very short time.

Eating – as a baby matures, it eventually learns to eat on its own.

Feeding – when a person matures to the point of being able to feed other people

Using the same analogy, Hebrews 5:11-14 says this…

For though by this time you ought to be teachers, you need someone to teach you again the basic principles of the oracles of God. You need milk, not solid food, for everyone who lives on milk is unskilled in the word of righteousness, since he is a child. But solid food is for the mature, for those who have their powers of discernment trained by constant practice to distinguish good from evil.

Translated: you should be feeding other people by now but instead you’re like a spoon-feeding 30 year old.  The lifelong, “final” stage of Pursuit of God is your personal pursuit of God overflowing into benefiting other people’s lives.

Here’s the unexpected twist – not only does The Kingdom need you to mature to feeding others, YOU need you to mature to feeding others.  You will know God more and grow faster when you’re feeding instead of eating.

For everyone that’s in this place in their life right now – how has serving and ministering to other people ended up actually benefiting you spiritually?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Susan Howerton permalink
    May 27, 2009 12:10 pm

    You know, Josh, I don’t think anyone ever feels ready to feed others and that, for me, has been where the spiritual benefit for me has come. I DO realize that not only am I not worthy to be used by God but I, in my own power and wisdom, are not capable of being used as God needs me to be; therefore, anything good that comes from my efforts in the name of Jesus in ministering or serving is God’s power through me enabling me to do all that He needs/desires me to. Seeing/experiencing God using me for His purposes, in spite of all my faults/failures/weaknesses, humbles me greatly and keeps me close and even more dependent on Jesus. I love seeing His power generated through seemingly ordinary, broken vessels like me… being His hands to touch and love others.

Leave a Reply

