Skip to content

to shave or not to shave…

May 27, 2009

This, my friends, is a little pick-me-up for your Thursday: last week over 300 men (I’m hoping there were no women) from all over the world gathered to compete in the World Beard and Mustache Competition.  Here are some of the contestants… 

There is a long-standing debate in the Howerton house about whether a man is better off with or without facial hair.  So I pose the question to you…

Is it better for a man to be clean-shaven or to possess facial hair of some kind?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. May 28, 2009 10:54 am

    Oh, my dear friend, the answer to that question completely depends on the man. My cousin, for example, should NEVER try to grow any type of facial hair- it just looks horrible. Chris Carpenter, however, would not look just right on the pitching mound without his little soul patch.

  2. Steve permalink
    May 28, 2009 11:55 am

    Sue does not like facial hair (at least on me). However she probably wishes I had more hair on my head. lol.

  3. josh permalink
    May 28, 2009 12:10 pm

    Jana is also a clean-shaven proponent, Steve. My soul-patch is my minor rebellion.

  4. jana permalink
    May 28, 2009 12:22 pm

    Clean shaven! That’s my final answer.

  5. Sarah permalink
    May 28, 2009 12:48 pm

    No woman actually desires rugburn. Personally I get grossed out when food gets stuck in it. *makes a vomit face*

  6. shelley permalink
    May 28, 2009 1:38 pm

    I’m with Jana! I do appreciate sideburns in moderation — has a look of maturity to it.

  7. Dale permalink
    May 28, 2009 1:43 pm

    Josh I don’t know if I can hang out with you anymore, you are such a rebel.

  8. Seth Massa permalink
    May 28, 2009 1:49 pm

    I think it depends on the jaw structure. For men who have no chin, sometimes the gotee gives the illusion that there is one. I personally think I look better with facial hair. I always hear that people like it “better” whenever I switch between the two (whether growing out a beard or shaving off the beard).

  9. misti permalink
    May 28, 2009 2:43 pm

    depends on the man. I like Mitch with some. But I hate to know what might be hanging out in the hair of those men from last Thursday.

  10. Susan Howerton permalink
    May 28, 2009 3:39 pm

    As long as it’s not comin’ out the ears or nose and they wouldn’t qualify for a Brawny commercial I’m ok with it.

  11. Becky permalink
    May 30, 2009 6:01 pm

    I like it when Jimmy looks a little “scruffy” but I prefer no beard.

Leave a Reply

