Skip to content

dreaming a little tonight

May 31, 2009

I’m daydreaming about the future a little tonight.

Every time I think I’ve got my finger on where we are as a church, something new happens to blow me away.  To catch you up, we’re in the middle of relocating to 4 business condos in the Port Royal Business Park in Spring Hill.  It’s a move that will allow us a launch pad for our mission to Spring Hill that’s relatively inexpensive (so we can focus our resources on people instead of a building) and keeps any option open for our church in the future since we won’t own a mortgage building.  It’s important for us to have all the options open because there’s just no telling what God will do with The Bridge.  We think something very powerful and maybe very different.

We had set a HUGE financial goal to give $17,000 for the furnishings of the building.  We officially finished the fundraiser last week and had $11,000 – not our goal, but not too shabby for 150 people in a recession.  Honestly, that’s about what I expected us to make it to in the first place.

O, me of little faith.

Timeline of events after that…

  • I get a call from a Bridger the next day that had taken on some extra work for the fundraiser – another $1,000
  • On Wednesday Alan Hood reminds me that the Student Ministry is doing a car wash on Saturday.  All proceeds go toward the buildout.  I silently expect them to make $300 max.
  • 3 text messages on Friday and Saturday from Bridgers asking how they can get last-minute sacrifices in.
  • On Saturday the Student Ministry raises $2,031 in three hours at the car-wash.  Say what!?
  • This morning (Sunday) five people hand last-minute offerings they’ve saved over the last 8 weeks to Dennis.
  • At roughly 10:30 I’m beaming and giddy as I announce that we not only met our goal, we exceeded it and raised $18,400.  I am wrong when I say this.
  • At roughly 11:30 I’m pulled aside by one of our fine elders who tells me that more came in than we thought and that we ended the day at $19,500… $2,500 over our goal.

So I’m left daydreaming a little today.  My whole life since God saved me when I was 13 I’ve wanted nothing more than to be a part of a true movement of God.  We still have so, so far to go – we’ll never “get there” – but I’m beginning to think He’s birthing something I’ve daydreamed about being a part of since middle school.

I wonder what we’ll be looking back on in five years… and twenty years… and fifty years after we’ve handed off The Bridge to a generation of godly leaders that’s probably not even born yet…

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Mary Bea permalink
    June 1, 2009 12:37 am

    I’m just crying while I read this…
    My God don’t care about no stinkin’ recession!
    What an amazing group of people I get to do life with!!

  2. Sue permalink
    June 1, 2009 7:54 am

    Once again God did “abundantly beyond all we could ask or think” You’d think by now – after being at The Bridge for 4 years – that I would KNOW that God will provide. We’ve seen giving above the goal for Gift for Christ every year since we’ve been at The Bridge. Several years ago I thought the kids would never raise enough money for one well for Blood Water Mission yet alone 2 wells…..the faith of children – and a lesson for the adults. Like Mary Bea, tears of joy and thankfulness are flowing.

  3. Sue permalink
    June 1, 2009 7:56 am

    P.S. I’m singing the doxology right now….. praise God from Whom all blessings flow.

  4. Scott Hippler permalink
    June 1, 2009 8:26 am

    What a great testimony that our great GOD, YHWH has not only a plan, but the perfect plan for everyone and everything.

    Oh how Jerilyn and I pray that we can be a part of this movement in the future.

    Thanks Bridge for showing us, yet again, that God is good all the time, and all the time is God is good!

  5. June 1, 2009 9:51 am

    Sitting here in awe this morning, He is clearly working in and among His people in Spring Hill. Thank you for sharing this great story, Josh. It renews hope, for sure, but it also causes me to love even more how God is transforming these people who are just humbly seeking Him.

  6. June 1, 2009 9:56 am

    The Bridge has a very special future. It seems to me that God is continuing to place the right people at The Bridge. He is building an amazingly firm foundation for the church to stand on for generations to come with Jesus being the power and the glue holding her all together.

  7. Jana Howerton permalink
    June 1, 2009 12:15 pm

    The Bridge is like no Church I’ve ever seen before. I am so excited how God is working in and through us to do greater things in Spring Hill. He is so good and He deserves all the glory!

    I am loving every minute of getting to be a part of The Bridge and doing life with each of you!

  8. June 1, 2009 1:17 pm

    “When you have eaten and are satisfied, praise the LORD your God for the good land God has given you.” – Deut. 8:10

    It sure sounds like you have eaten and are satisfied. My heart bursts when I picture the Father in heaven, laughing and smiling for the joy of blessing his children.

  9. Dave Hall permalink
    June 1, 2009 2:27 pm

    This last week I was hesitant to any more work on the property until we received our permit. Jim, Scott and I met last night and asked what can still be done without a permit. Because my faith was waning a bit since we have been having these hurdles to jump over to get a permit. After Sunday’s announcement that God blew out our goal of $17k, I’ve been hearing God say “Don’t you TRUST ME”. Well, we’re seeing what else we can do prior to getting the permit so we can make our move in date as soon as possible.

    • Cindy permalink
      June 1, 2009 4:24 pm

      My heart, also is overwhelmed at getting to be a part of such an awesome church family. I love you all more than words can describe. We are truly blessed and the love I feel at the Bridge is so evident. I have been in churches all my life; this one is DIFFERENT!!!! I believe that our people so want to be pleasing before the Lord, it just makes it DIFFERENT!!!! God bless you all.

  10. Sheri Haun permalink
    June 1, 2009 4:49 pm

    I am reminded once again that God takes care of our NEEDS and not necessarily our wants. Our motive always needs to be what God wants for us and not what we want for ourselves. Thanks Bridge forsuch reminders.

  11. shelley permalink
    June 3, 2009 12:06 am

    goosebumps & tears of gratitude to an all-powerful, all-knowing God….

Leave a Reply

